Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Sean on April 11, 2009, 10:30:58 AM

Title: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: Sean on April 11, 2009, 10:30:58 AM
In type two, I have set up Tartaros (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/tartaros.htm), Holy of Holies (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/holyofholies.htm), a Trembling Demon (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/tremblingdemon.htm) in Tartaros and a Trembling Demon in my territory to provide a continuous loop of blocks.  How do the Trembling Demons gain experience credit?
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: crustpope on April 11, 2009, 10:48:59 AM
does can you have a trembling demon in tartaros and in your territory at the same time or wouldn't one have to be discarded?  This is ingenious if it works. 

Well, I would just shove three copies of miuldewed houses under your three copies of Tartaros to break the cycle, but it is pretty neat nonetheless.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 11, 2009, 10:53:16 AM
How did you get the demon in Tartaros and how will you keep doing it?
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 11, 2009, 11:08:36 AM
If you block with Trembling Demon and die to use his ability, that does not count as a successful block, so you wouldn't be able to release another demon from tartaros. Also, since you weren't the one to discard it, it wouldn't go to tartaros either.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: Sean on April 11, 2009, 11:13:10 AM
If no LS is rescue then it is a successful block.

There are plenty of ways to discard your own Evil Characters.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: TimMierz on April 11, 2009, 11:16:46 AM
When Trembling Demon does his thing, the defender loses a battle challenge. Nothing is released from Tartaros.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: BubbleBoy on April 11, 2009, 11:17:22 AM
If no LS is rescue then it is a successful block.
Hm...I don't think that's how it works.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 11, 2009, 11:21:12 AM
There are plenty of ways to discard your own Evil Characters.

I thought the idea was to let your demon die so that no enhancements were played. In that case, you would not be discarding the Trembling Demon.

Also, as Tim mentioned, "successful block" is not the same as "win the battle."
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: Sean on April 11, 2009, 11:25:07 AM
Ah, you're right.  I feel silly.

However, I know for certain that when no LS is rescued that it is a successful block.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 11, 2009, 11:26:57 AM
Ah, you're right.  I feel silly.

There's nothing silly about being a Redemption thinktank, or so I try to tell my wife...  ::)
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: Sean on April 11, 2009, 11:31:28 AM
All that said, I still am not sure how experience credit is gained in conjunction with Tartaros.  Let's say that I am using Death of Unrighteous with a hand full of Messenger of Satan to create the loop.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: Gabe on April 11, 2009, 11:49:17 AM
Tartaros seems like it replaces the discard/capture of a demon.  Since the discarded demon doesn't go to the discard pile I would expect it to get experience credit if it successfully blocked.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 11, 2009, 11:57:32 AM
I agree. The REG specifically says that heroes in Potter's Field keep their gained abilities, so I don't see why Tartaros would be any different.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: The Schaef on April 11, 2009, 03:39:34 PM
It is not a successful block if you lose the battle.

It IS a failed rescue attempt if you stop the rescue of the Lost Soul.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: Sean on April 11, 2009, 04:31:50 PM
huh?  I thought it was a successful block if no LS was rescued.  It certainly isn't a successful rescue.  Only in Redemption would a lose for the good guys mean a loss for the bad guys...
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: TimMierz on April 11, 2009, 05:03:29 PM
It's a successful battle challenge.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: lightningninja on April 11, 2009, 05:34:21 PM
Schaef and I believe myself and Bryon have all said many times the difference between "successful block" and "successful rescue." If you kill the heroes, or ignore them or are immune to them, it is a successful block. If you die but stop them from rescuing the soul it is an unsuccessful block but an unsuccessful rescue as well. All successessful blocks lead to unsuccessful rescues, but not all unsuccessful rescue were caused by a successful block. There is a BIG difference.  :)
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: The Schaef on April 11, 2009, 08:26:59 PM
The three steps of Battle Resolution help clarify this issue.

a). determine who won the battle.  Since the bad guy died, the good guy won the battle.
b). determine whether the rescue attempt/battle challenge succeeded or failed.  You had access to a LS at some point, so it counts as a rescue attempt, and you got no LS, so the rescue attempt failed.  However, you won a battle with no access to LS, so you had a successful battle challenge.  This is just about the only instance in which you can have both at the same time, usually it's just one or the other
c). resolve all the end-of-battle stuff based on the results.
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: Mageduckey on April 12, 2009, 04:52:56 PM
All that said, I still am not sure how experience credit is gained in conjunction with Tartaros.  Let's say that I am using Death of Unrighteous with a hand full of Messenger of Satan to create the loop.

How would this create a loop?  Wouldn't DoU get d/c after one use?
Title: Re: Trembling Demon and Experience Credit
Post by: sk on April 12, 2009, 04:55:42 PM
He'd have several copies if it's Type 2 or a big deck.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal