Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on June 30, 2009, 07:42:21 PM
-
Can a player use transfiguration to pull a Moses that is already in play into battle? The way the card reads to me, is that it can pull Moses, or Elijah , or both from the discard pile, and then band them into battle. Can they already be in play and be placed in battle??
Transfiguration
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: White • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Holder may search draw pile or discard pile for Moses or Elijah, and band one or both into battle. This effect may not be negated, prevented, or interrupted. • Play As: Holder may search draw pile or discard pile for Moses or Elijah, and band one or both into battle. These effects may not be negated. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Luke 9:29-30 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Rare)
-
The ruling for "may" abilities is that each unconditional part gets the "may."
Therefore, yes, the "you may search for them" is separate from the "you may band them into battle."
-
Since it doesn't say to search for Moses and/or Elijah, you can only search for 1, correct?
-
this is not how this card has been ruled in the past...the.reg need to be checked
-
this is not how this card has been ruled in the past...the.reg need to be checked
What is that in reference to? The 5/07 REG (PDF) says you can only search for one but you can band in both.
-
Since it doesn't say to search for Moses and/or Elijah, you can only search for 1, correct?
I would agree, since it says "or." I only said "them" as a general statement for whichever you were searching for. Sorry for the lack of clarity.
-
where does one find those entries in the REG? The play as seems to me to support that they must be pulled from the deck and then banded, is there a separate section for rulings?
-
???
You quoted the "Play As" in your first post.
-
My mistake, I meant to say that the play as doesn't seem to be worded in a way that allows for them to be in play and banded. I'll fix my post.
-
Oh, I see. ;D
There is no conditional statement (i.e. If..., then). There is a comma, followed by "and." The two parts are not contingent.
Also, the first part says to search for one or the other, but the band allows both. Therefore the implication is that they are not contingent since you couldn't band to both if you were not allowed to search for both.
I think I just confused myself, so hopefully that made sense. ;)
-
+1 with ymt. The search may be for one or the other but both may be banded into battle if both are available.
That is how I have always played/ruled it
-
i was always told you could band them if you pulled them from the draw/discard pile not from play of course that never made sense to me.
-
Transfiguration allows you to search for one (Moses/Elijah) then you may band one or both into battle from your hand or any territory.
-
good to know