Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jonesy on October 28, 2014, 10:46:46 PM
-
If i am protected from decrease, and the battle is toss does that mean im untouchable from the toss effect?
-
I would think yes, because toss decreases you. Unless there is some special rule of toss I don't know about.
-
Minion is correct. Toss causes a decrease so if you are protected from decrease you are protected from toss.
-
The opponent's abilities still don't work, you just don't get decreased, correct?
-
Correct. The enhancements still get tossed, the opponent just can't target your protected Heroes for decrease.
-
If i place peace on a character would that toss previous placed enhancements on that character when they come in battle or does toss have to come from hand?
Peace reads- Place on your clay or blue hero: When this Hero is in battle alone, toss all Enhancements played this battle. Cannot be interrupted.
-
The ones played afterwards would be tossed.
-
Unless they activate when the character enters battle, then they get tossed as well.
-
What if its another fruit of the spirit card?
-
Cards that are placed on characters (like the Fruit of the Spirit enhancements) only get "played" when they are initially activated and placed, they do not get played every time the character enters battle (like weapons) as they are always active (unlike weapons). If you have Peace and any other enhancements placed on the same Hero when that Hero enters battle these placed enhancements would not be tossed. Only weapons and any enhancements played within that battle would get tossed.
-
So you're telling me that if I use tithe or a similar card to place an enhancement on a character with a toss ability or holding Peace that the enhancement will work properly and then be discarded?
Tithe - You may place an Enhancement from hand on a Hero of matching brigade in your territory. The next time that Hero enters battle, that Enhancement activates and holder may draw a card.
-
No, I was referring to cards that activate and place themselves (like the FotS enhancements). Cards placed with abilities like Tithe that activate later are still "played" when they activate and would thus be tossed if a toss ability is active.
-
Browarod is correct. You play a card when you are activating the ability on it, so cards like Fruits, Isaiah's Call, King's Pomp, and so on are played when they are placed. The example of Tithe is one where the placed enhancement is not activated until battle, which is when it gets 'played'. It is the same as we have had with weapons, nothing new there.