Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Sean on April 03, 2009, 03:48:28 PM

Title: Throne of David?
Post by: Sean on April 03, 2009, 03:48:28 PM
In the event that you have Throne of David and your purple king is blocked by an auto win combo (Zimri or whatever), is your interrupt counted as the card played by Throne of David's special ability?  Or do you still get to draw+play with ToD after interrupting?

REG is coming up for me right so I can't get the exact SA but its something like, "If your purple king is blocked by an Evil Character without a weapon you may draw X cards and play an OT purple Enhancement."
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: TimMierz on April 03, 2009, 04:03:14 PM
My gut tells me that by drawing from Throne of David, you've acknowledged that Zimri has run its course and you've forfeited your chance to interrupt it. Therefore, you have no one to play an enhancement on, and the battle is over. If instead you play Reach from your hand and play something to ignore Zimri, then the block is complete and you can use Throne of David (even though no Evil Character is in battle anymore).

This is likely to not be correct, but that's what I feel.
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: lightningninja on April 03, 2009, 04:06:18 PM
Yes, it's my favorite card. Oh, that wasn't your question?

No, you can't. The throne says "when your king is blocked." By the time you play reach, you king has already been blocked, and therefore the time frame is different. That's my gut, I'm not more sure than Tim is on the other side. It just seems that "when your king is blocked," Would mean RIGHT when your king is blocked.
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: TimMierz on April 03, 2009, 04:11:52 PM
Thing is, a "block" includes resolving special abilities on the blocker, just as "starting a rescue attempt" (like on Hidden Treasures) involves resolving special abilities on the Hero.
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: lightningninja on April 03, 2009, 04:29:34 PM
Right... and so I'm saying that by the time you are playing reach of desperation, you are not in the "blocking" stage, you are in the battle stage. That's what I think, anyways.  :)
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: STAMP on April 03, 2009, 05:12:05 PM
 +1 with Tim.
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: SirNobody on April 03, 2009, 08:44:21 PM
Hey,

The Throne of David is a triggered ability, it must be resolved before any enhancement can be played with "normal initiative."  So after Zirmi  uses his ability The Throne of David kicks in, you draw cards and you can play an Old Testament enhancement.  The rule that "you can only play a negate or interrupt when your character is being defeated" still applies even to enhancements played by a special ability so you could only play an Old Testament enhancement that was a negate or interrupt.  Once the ability of The Throne of David is resolved you could would then determine initiative normally, so if you don't play an enhancement with The Throne of David you would then have initiative because you are being defeated and could use reach.

At least that's how I would rule it.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: TimMierz on April 04, 2009, 10:28:09 AM
So if I understand you correctly, Tim, Zimri discards everybody, and then you can immediately draw, but you can only play an interrupt (even one you just drew). Is that right?
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: Bryon on April 04, 2009, 10:54:09 AM
That is correct.  You can't play a regular OT purple non-interrupt enhancement on your hero because he isn't in battle.  You have to play an interrupt.  Of course, if Zimri ws the only evil character your opponent had in play, then you wouldn't even get to draw, since X = zero by the time the trigger hits.
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: egilkinc on April 04, 2009, 11:09:16 AM
hey,

Furthermore, if the King is blocked by Uzzah (You may discard Uzzah and an Artifact from your hand or artifact pile to protect all Lost Souls from rescue.), Uzzah's ability completes, Uzzah is discarded, and then as Throne of David attemtps to trigger, since there is no evil character in battle, the attacker cannot draw. Is this correct?

Thanx,
Gil
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on April 04, 2009, 11:47:46 AM
You can't play a regular OT purple non-interrupt enhancement on your hero because he isn't in battle. 

Just a quick question. Altar of Burnt Offering allows you to play an enhancement without there being a hero in battle. Since Throne of David just says "you" may play an enhancement, could you play one without there being a hero in battle since TToD has already been triggered?
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: lightningninja on April 04, 2009, 09:46:32 PM
I don't think you that is correct Tim... I think that even if Uzzah discarded himself you were still "blocked." However, you CAN'T play an enhancement because their is no evil character in battle.
Title: Re: Throne of David?
Post by: SirNobody on April 04, 2009, 11:04:24 PM
Hey,

Just a quick question. Altar of Burnt Offering allows you to play an enhancement without there being a hero in battle. Since Throne of David just says "you" may play an enhancement, could you play one without there being a hero in battle since TToD has already been triggered?

Enhancements played not during the battle phase are played on characters in your territory (Altar of Burnt Offerings, Set-asides, Healing cards).  Enhancements played during the battle phase are played on characters in the field of battle.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal