Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Lex1122 on February 22, 2018, 10:56:21 AM

Title: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Lex1122 on February 22, 2018, 10:56:21 AM
If you Three Woes a Card are all copies of that card negated? For instance the imitate lost soul. Can I negate my opponents than use my own still?

The hopper. If drawn by my opponent can I win it with the SOG? Or after it completes and it’s ability puts it in my LOB is it no longer targetable by the SOG?
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Kevinthedude on February 22, 2018, 11:03:10 AM
1. Woes only negate the individual card you target with it, not every card of the same name.

2. Hopper's ability completes before you have a chance to play SoG on it in the opponent's LoB. However, as long as you do it in the same phase Hopper activated, you can Woes Hopper to send it back to the opponent and then SoG it.
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: The Guardian on February 22, 2018, 11:10:05 AM
+1
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Lex1122 on February 22, 2018, 11:12:33 AM
If I negate the hopper in the same phase with the SOG and by negating it, brings it back to my opponents LOB then complete the rest of the SOG ability and rescue it. Is that not possible? Am I correct on how that works?
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Ironisaac on February 22, 2018, 11:16:21 AM
Its ability completes before you get the opportunity to play sog. Basically, right when it's put in play, it's ability attempts to activate, sending it to your LoB, making it no longer a valid target for your sog.
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Lex1122 on February 22, 2018, 11:22:12 AM
Awesome! Good info to know! Thanks
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Xonathan on February 22, 2018, 11:23:39 AM
Its ability completes before you get the opportunity to play sog. Basically, right when it's put in play, it's ability attempts to activate, sending it to your LoB, making it no longer a valid target for your sog.

SoG can rescue hopper if its played in the same phase. Or has that change?
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Kevinthedude on February 22, 2018, 11:30:54 AM
Its ability completes before you get the opportunity to play sog. Basically, right when it's put in play, it's ability attempts to activate, sending it to your LoB, making it no longer a valid target for your sog.

SoG can rescue hopper if its played in the same phase. Or has that change?

There is no time you can play a dominant between your opponent drawing Hopper and Hopper's ability moving itself to your LoB, thus making it not a valid SoG target.
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Xonathan on February 22, 2018, 11:34:11 AM
So SoG can't target the card for the negate basically because its in your LoB
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Ironisaac on February 22, 2018, 11:35:13 AM
Yes.
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Xonathan on February 22, 2018, 11:37:56 AM
I've seen this played wrong a couple times then... lol
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: The Guardian on February 22, 2018, 11:38:57 AM
My mistake, I didn't read kevinthedude's first reply carefully enough.

Son of God can be used to rescue the opponent's Hopper if it is played in the same phase Hopper was drawn. The rule is that you cannot rescue LS in your own LoB, not that you can't target them with an ability. By playing SoG to first negate Hopper, you are sending it back to the opponent's LoB (where it is first put in play for its ability to activate) and then it is in a valid location for you to rescue it.
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: The Guardian on February 22, 2018, 11:44:17 AM
Its ability completes before you get the opportunity to play sog. Basically, right when it's put in play, it's ability attempts to activate, sending it to your LoB, making it no longer a valid target for your sog.

SoG can rescue hopper if its played in the same phase. Or has that change?

There is no time you can play a dominant between your opponent drawing Hopper and Hopper's ability moving itself to your LoB, thus making it not a valid SoG target.

This is incorrect. The game rule is that you cannot rescue cards in your own LoB. You can still target them with abilities (such as the negate ability of Son of God). If you wanted, you can play SoG on one of your own LS simply to negate it (you just wouldn't be able to rescue it).
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Lex1122 on February 22, 2018, 11:46:23 AM
Ok that’s what I thought from the beginning. So I played that right then.
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Ironisaac on February 22, 2018, 11:47:25 AM
Ok, so I've been playing it wrong then. Good to know!  ;D
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Lex1122 on February 22, 2018, 11:54:13 AM
Does this ring true even when you draw the hopper on your first 8 cards in the beginning of the game?
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: The Guardian on February 22, 2018, 12:03:11 PM
No, there is no turn (ergo no phase) at that point so dominants cannot be played until the beginning of the first player's first turn. I know a lot of people tend to slap down GoyS immediately if they draw it in their opening hand, but technically that is not a legal play--they should be waiting for the first turn (and if the opponent goes first, they would need to have dominant initiative).
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Lex1122 on February 22, 2018, 12:08:48 PM
Ok so say I draw the hopper and it’s in my opponents LOB in the first eight cards. He goes first and plays SOG on the hopper. Is it able to be negated and return to my LOB and be rescued? Or is it basically the only time in the game you cannot do that?
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: The Guardian on February 22, 2018, 12:12:42 PM
I know we discussed this as an Elder team, but I cannot recall exactly what our conclusion was in regards to playing dominants during the opening sequence (everything prior to the first turn being taken).
Title: Re: Three Woes Negate and Hopper lost soul
Post by: Jeremystair on February 22, 2018, 12:18:58 PM
•   Beginning the game: The player who draws the most lost souls in the opening draw of 8 determines which player’s lost soul abilities activate first. Lost soul abilities then complete in a clockwise direction (in the case of a tie, a coin flip or dice roll should be used).
•   Determining who goes first: The player with the most lost souls in his Land of Bondage after all abilities from lost souls have completed decides who will go first. In the case of a tie, a flip of a coin or a dice roll will determine who will choose the player to go first. Play then proceeds in a clockwise direction.

So these are not considered phases?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal