Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on June 23, 2017, 01:05:07 PM

Title: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Josh on June 23, 2017, 01:05:07 PM
My opponent plays Three Woes as evil, targeting my hero in territory.  On my turn, I play Hypocrisy and return that hero to my hand in my Prep phase.  Then I attack with that hero from hand.  Is that hero prevented?
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Xonathan on June 23, 2017, 01:18:58 PM
I believe yes in T1 but in t2 it could be more confusing since you can have multiple copies of the same card.
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Gabe on June 23, 2017, 01:54:31 PM
Once the card leaves play it is no longer being tartgeted. When it enters play again it has reset and is not longer the same target (even if it's the same card).
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Josh on June 23, 2017, 01:58:58 PM
Once the card leaves play it is no longer being tartgeted. When it enters play again it has reset and is not longer the same target (even if it's the same card).

How does this apply to artifacts deactivating and reactivating?  Technically the artifact "leaves play" when it is deactivated, even if it reactivates immediately.  Correct?
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Gabe on June 23, 2017, 02:15:01 PM
Artifacts that remain active never turn face down. That was our conclusion when we researched it during testing. I think we found info in the 10th anniversary rule book which led to that conclusion.
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Xonathan on June 23, 2017, 02:41:51 PM
Does that apply if you use urim and thumin and you reactivate the previous artifact you had up?
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Xonathan on June 24, 2017, 02:21:06 PM
 :bump:
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: The Guardian on June 24, 2017, 02:26:36 PM
No--because you are deactivating the artifact to activate Urim and Thummim. U&T then gives you an additional "activate an artifact" ability which allows you to activate the previously deactivated artifact.

Moving an already activated artifact from the art pile to a Temple (or other available activation location) would also not reset the targeting of Three Woes.
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 25, 2017, 01:48:07 AM
The artifact pile is still in play, so even though you can't normally target face-down Artifacts because of targeting restrictions on face-down cards, the active Art never leaves play to reset with Urim.
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Gabe on June 25, 2017, 09:10:38 AM
The artifact pile is still in play, so even though you can't normally target face-down Artifacts because of targeting restrictions on face-down cards, the active Art never leaves play to reset with Urim.

Quote from: REG>Face Down
Face Down cards are cards in territories, battle, and set-aside areas that are face down either due to special ability, or are inactive artifacts in an artifact pile. Face down cards have no abilities, brigade, titles, or identifiers while they are face down. The only known attribute of a face down card is the card type. Face down cards are only targetable by abilities that specify they can target face down cards or inactive artifacts, or cards that can target any or all cards in a location. When a face down card enters battle, it is immediately flipped face up, unless otherwise specified by the special ability that flipped it face down.
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 26, 2017, 01:57:44 AM
And?
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: soul seeker on June 26, 2017, 10:20:37 AM
And?
It looks like he is implying that cards that go to untargetable locations (like hand & face down) reset before they enter play again.
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 26, 2017, 03:25:25 PM
In play is not an untargetable location and face-down is not a location.
Title: Re: Three Woes + card leaves play
Post by: Kevinthedude on June 26, 2017, 03:45:57 PM
In play is not an untargetable location and face-down is not a location.

While true, the point still stands that the artifact is untargetable while face-down.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal