Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Korunks on May 27, 2010, 01:32:10 PM

Title: This confuses me ...
Post by: Korunks on May 27, 2010, 01:32:10 PM
This is a quote from another thread here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=21459.msg335909;topicseen#new)

I didn't want to hijack the thread so I am moving it here.

Quote
#1 - the PG defense you referred to has been replaced by Assyrian Archer/Rabshekah/2KH/Forgotten History.  The Assyrians can be protected in territory with their fort.  The archer can kill a hero in territory.  2KH is CBN on Rab.  Forgotten History ends the battle, and saves the Archer's life.

I never understood the ruling on this, Forgotten history just forces battle resolution right?  Then it should automatically kill the archer, unless because of the interrupt he does not die, but in that case the sniping shouldn't happen either.  Like I said, this combo has always confused me.
Title: Re: Thi confuses me ...
Post by: Ryupeco11 on May 27, 2010, 01:39:32 PM
i think it's as you said the interrupt "interrupts" the ongoing ability of the archer(the hero discard was instantaneous the archer dieing at end of battle is ongoing) and forgotten history was played durring the intturpt which forces battle resolution so the archer's ability to discard himself was effectively stopped.
Title: Re: Thi confuses me ...
Post by: Korunks on May 27, 2010, 01:48:51 PM
Quote
It does not send you back to the beginning of the battle and does not include special abilities completed prior to the interrupt being played that are no longer pending.

I think I begin to understand,  this section of the REG backs up what you said.  I get it now. :)
Title: Re: Thi confuses me ...
Post by: TheKarazyvicePresidentRR on May 27, 2010, 02:50:17 PM
i think it's as you said the interrupt "interrupts" the ongoing ability of the archer(the hero discard was instantaneous the archer dieing at end of battle is ongoing) and forgotten history was played durring the intturpt which forces battle resolution so the archer's ability to discard himself was effectively stopped.
Correct.
Title: Re: Thi confuses me ...
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on May 27, 2010, 04:05:57 PM
so you can continually nuke every turn with that? And not discard?
Title: Re: Thi confuses me ...
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on May 27, 2010, 04:09:06 PM
As long as you can continually play Forgotten History, sure.  :P
Title: Re: Thi confuses me ...
Post by: Korunks on May 27, 2010, 04:09:22 PM
yup, except in T1 you only get 1 forgotten history. ;)

instaposted by Lambo
Title: Re: This confuses me ...
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on May 27, 2010, 04:11:23 PM
huh....I don't like the brokenness of that combo. If I would do type 2 i'd try sadducee's/pharisees
Title: Re: This confuses me ...
Post by: Red on May 27, 2010, 05:05:25 PM
It has a counter.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal