Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Noah on June 18, 2016, 02:04:22 PM

Title: The Throne of Grace
Post by: Noah on June 18, 2016, 02:04:22 PM
Do DAEs count as a "single-brigade good enhancement" for the purpose of The Throne of Grace?

The Throne of Grace - "If your human Hero is removed from battle by a special ability on an opponent's evil card, you may discard a single-brigade good Enhancement from hand to negate that card."
Title: Re: The Throne of Grace
Post by: Gabe on June 18, 2016, 02:09:19 PM
DAEs have 2 brigades for deck building purposes so I think they do for TToG too.
Title: Re: The Throne of Grace
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 18, 2016, 02:31:00 PM
I disagree, when you choose how to use the enhancement it becomes that half, where it's only single brigade. See King Zimri
Title: Re: The Throne of Grace
Post by: Alex_Olijar on June 18, 2016, 02:39:22 PM
I disagree, when you choose how to use the enhancement it becomes that half, where it's only single brigade. See King Zimri

I agree with this.
Title: Re: The Throne of Grace
Post by: Redoubter on June 18, 2016, 03:47:29 PM
If I were using it, then yes.  However, even though I am targeting it as a good enhancement, and it only has one good brigade, the location I am targeting it in (hand) also has the card being targetable as two different brigades (one good, one evil).  I think this would be different from the "played" examples (like Speech), in that it is still in a location where it has both brigades and both alignments.  Therefore, I would agree with Gabe.
Title: Re: The Throne of Grace
Post by: RedemptionAggie on June 18, 2016, 03:58:50 PM
What about Fire Foxes?  It's only 1 brigade as an enhancement.  Or does having the other brigades at all disqualify it?
Title: Re: The Throne of Grace
Post by: Gabe on June 18, 2016, 04:13:17 PM
My reply earlier was from my phone, thus brief and not very explanative.

John is correct about the ruling for Zimri because his ability is inclusive. As long as the card is a crimson Enhancement it qualifies. It doesn't matter what else the card can be counted as, or even if it's crimson + another brigade.

TToG is like Zimri, except it's exclusive due to the "single-brigade" language. Since the card being used comes from hand, it's at face value. At face value every dual-affiliation card (including Fire Foxes) has at least two brigades, meaning that they cannot meet the single brigade requirement.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal