Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: The Schaefer on June 09, 2016, 11:52:00 PM
-
So since during special initiative you don't have initiative to use through throne of grace does it retroactively negate the removing card or does it just only work if you have more than 1 hero in battle I'm just confused.
The throne of grace
If your human hero is removed from battle by a special ability on an opponent's evil card, you may discard a single-brigade good enhancement from hand to negate that card.
Also as a secondary question if it is ruled to retroactively negate the removing card does that differ from how cards like Covenant of Noah have been ruled?
-
All negates undo an effect (SI lets you do it as the effect completes, but it is still undoing the ability). I'm not sure what you mean by differing from CoN, but this is triggered upon the removal by special ability. Once all abilities resolve, if it can activate (the battle hasn't gone to Battle Resolution by an End the Battle ability and Throne isn't negated), then it triggers at that point. Just like playing a negate at this point would undo the effect, so too does Throne undo the effect causing removal by negating it. Since it was undone, this generally means the character will be back in battle as it was before the ability.
-
Ok I guess I was just too focused on special initiative. I know a while back cards like CoN had some debates but I think that was more about cards like DoU that don't pass initiative. I think I'm just trying to trip myself up on abilities sometimes
-
Just trying to understand gameplay.
I attack. Opponent blocks and plays battle winner. Ability on battle winner completes. Then I instead with fortress?
-
The ability completes, then the trigger on Throne completes and allows you to use its ability (which is not an instead).