Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on June 01, 2016, 05:07:06 PM

Title: The Throne of David
Post by: Josh on June 01, 2016, 05:07:06 PM
"When your purple brigade King is blocked, if no Evil Character in battle has a weapon, you may draw X cards and play an O.T. purple brigade Enhancement."

If I attack with ET, play UK, and band in all my purple kings, does TToD trigger multiple times?  Since each king is getting blocked...

Also, what about banding in purple kings when an EC is already in battle?  Since the king that enters battle is now "blocked", does TToD trigger again?
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: kariusvega on June 01, 2016, 05:30:27 PM
yes it does
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: Redoubter on June 01, 2016, 05:37:16 PM
yes it does

Two questions, and the second question is "no."

"Is blocked" here is the act of being blocked, which involves placing the first EC into battle.  It does not count if you bring in a king later, and it also refers to the initial block (the first EC being added to battle) as the trigger.
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: Josh on June 02, 2016, 07:46:17 AM
yes it does

Two questions, and the second question is "no."

"Is blocked" here is the act of being blocked, which involves placing the first EC into battle.  It does not count if you bring in a king later, and it also refers to the initial block (the first EC being added to battle) as the trigger.

So if I have 5 kings in battle preblock, when my opponent blocks, TToD triggers 5 times and I can draw 5 times and play 5 OT purple GEs?
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: Redoubter on June 02, 2016, 08:18:44 AM
That has worked to my knowledge, yes. I could see it being ruled that the trigger only looks for ANY king blocked, not EACH, but I believe that this is the current ruling, as long as they are in battle before the initial block.
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: kariusvega on June 02, 2016, 09:57:46 AM
That's correct. It has been ruled and discussed with elders
Questions:
1. Yes
2. No

Also, another thing to be aware of is if add a blocker after you remove their blocker I'm pretty sure Throne triggers again
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: Noah on June 02, 2016, 12:34:07 PM
Two questions, and the second question is "no."

"Is blocked" here is the act of being blocked, which involves placing the first EC into battle.  It does not count if you bring in a king later, and it also refers to the initial block (the first EC being added to battle) as the trigger.

Your definition of "Block" is inconsistent with how the REG defines "Block".

The REG states,
Quote from: REG
Block
Blocking is the attempt to prevent a rescue. Only Evil Characters may block. Whenever an Evil Character enters the Field of Battle against a Hero (regardless of what point the battle is), that is considered a block.

According to the REG there is nothing to denote or imply that "Is Blocked" refers to the act of "placing the first EC into battle."

Now, I am not disagreeing with you over whether adding a king to battle is sufficient to trigger an "Is Blocked" ability. It's not. But I would argue that The Throne of David would trigger if an EC was added to battle following the "Initial Block" based on the definition of "Block" in the REG.
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: Gabe on June 02, 2016, 01:05:34 PM
+1 with tp#3. That's how we've ruled it in the past.
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: Josh on June 02, 2016, 01:12:58 PM
So if I can get X purple kings into battle preblock, and then play The Second Seal preblock when my opponent has Y evil characters and Z evil brigades in play, thus making Y evil characters block my X kings, I could draw X*Y*Z cards (stupid hand limit...) and play X*Y OT purple GEs. 
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: TheJaylor on June 02, 2016, 11:00:09 PM
So if I can get X purple kings into battle preblock, and then play The Second Seal preblock when my opponent has Y evil characters and Z evil brigades in play, thus making Y evil characters block my X kings, I could draw X*Y*Z cards (stupid hand limit...) and play X*Y OT purple GEs.
I mean, I'm pretty sure you could just play The Second Seal (via Cherubim to E.T., for example) and choose all your kings to be banded in before all the ECs, but yeah, I think that'd work based on how the definitions are ruled.
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: Jonesy on June 03, 2016, 11:00:08 AM
Do we have a definite answer on this yet?
Title: Re: The Throne of David
Post by: browarod on June 03, 2016, 11:20:42 AM
Do we have a definite answer on this yet?
Is there something that still needs answering? TToD triggers when an evil character enters battle and triggers for each purple king getting blocked. It does not trigger if a purple king enters after an EC is already in battle unless another EC is then added later.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal