Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Rawrlolsauce! on November 01, 2010, 08:40:05 PM

Title: The Tartan
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on November 01, 2010, 08:40:05 PM
This isn't too important beings it isn't a very good card, but....

Does the Tartan
-Negate all (protect abilities on heroes) and (fortresses)
-Negate all (protect abilities on heroes) and (protect abilities on fortresses)."
or other?




The Tartan (FF)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: 10 / 7 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Negate all protect abilities on Heroes and Fortresses. You may capture a Philistine or discard an Ashdod Site. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Commander (Assyria), Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: Isaiah 20:1 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on November 01, 2010, 08:49:57 PM
it should be the second one...
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: TheJaylor on November 01, 2010, 08:50:16 PM
it is the second option
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: RTSmaniac on November 01, 2010, 08:50:26 PM
-Negate all (protect abilities on heroes) and (protect abilities on fortresses)."
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on November 01, 2010, 08:52:35 PM
Do you have any references/precedence or are you guessing?
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: RTSmaniac on November 01, 2010, 08:54:02 PM
guessing  ;D
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on November 01, 2010, 08:54:14 PM
simple grammar rules...
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on November 01, 2010, 09:02:16 PM
simple grammar rules...
Although normally I'd say that makes no sense, I'll say "Redemption has gotten into the habit of being repetitive when distinguishing. (IE: Job). If it wanted to do the second it should say exactly what I typed, minus the parentheses." instead.
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on November 01, 2010, 10:14:37 PM
i agree with you for better clarification.
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: Professoralstad on November 01, 2010, 11:29:28 PM
"Heroes and Fortresses" is the object of the prepositional phrase "on Heroes and Fortresses" which equates it to "on Heroes and on Fortresses". So it's the second option.

For comparison, Job says: "Protect Job from discard and capture abilities." So in this case, "from discard and capture abilities" equates to "from discard and from capture abilities".

That's how I'd rule it.
Title: Re: The Tartan
Post by: The M on November 05, 2010, 04:27:05 PM
Ohhhh... mannnn....

Job protected from discard and discard abilities....

Ohhhh... mannnn....
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal