Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Jeremystair on February 24, 2018, 05:40:11 PM

Title: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on February 24, 2018, 05:40:11 PM
The serpent says paralyzed an opponent for X turns. X is equal to the number of cards drawn. Is the turn considered both players turns or player that I'm paralyzing his turn or my turn?
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on February 24, 2018, 05:52:28 PM
Turns are counted separately for each player. I'm pretty sure it's counted from the perspective of the player controlling the impacted card (the paralyzed character instead of The Serpent, here), so a turn is counted in the upkeep phase of the player controlling the paralyzed Hero.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on February 24, 2018, 06:03:57 PM
Well this is what the 4th edition rulebook says a turn is. So I'm under the impression that it is each players turn because the serpent doesn't say your opponent's turn it just says turns.


Turn:  A turn begins with the Draw Phase and ends with the Discard Phase. A player announces he is finished at the end of his turn.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on February 24, 2018, 06:05:45 PM
The REG has a definition for turn, and indicates "each turn" only counts one player's turns.

Quote
A turn begins with the Draw Phase and ends with the Discard Phase. A player announces he is finished at the end of his turn. Cards that say “per turn” or “for X turns” mean “for each of your turns” or “for X of your turns”.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on February 24, 2018, 06:08:56 PM
So this is referring to the person who played the card turns? So in this case it is the person who played the serpent his turn?
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: RedemptionAggie on February 24, 2018, 06:11:19 PM
I think it's referring to the controller of the card affected by the ability - the paralyzed Hero, in this case. But it's not exactly clear.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on February 24, 2018, 06:27:43 PM
I would think it would have to be what you just said because if not then the player who had his hero paralyzed could still play the angel of the Lord and I don't think you're allowed to do that once she's paralyzed the hero.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on March 12, 2018, 02:46:51 PM
So do we know when we start counting turns? Is it from this perspective of the person who played the card or from the person who had the special ability played against them?
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: The Guardian on March 12, 2018, 02:48:58 PM
It is counted from the perspective of the player with the paralyzed Hero.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on March 12, 2018, 02:54:41 PM
 What about in the case of Nebuchadnezzar's Pride?

Nebuchadnezzar's Pride
Interrupt the battle and set aside all characters and sites in battle for four turns.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: The Guardian on March 12, 2018, 03:00:23 PM
Each character is counted on the owner's turn.

Same with Seized by Rioters (if it sets aside Heroes owned by different players).
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on March 12, 2018, 03:10:41 PM
Okay that makes sense. Now when does the set aside start the count? As soon as my hero is set aside and that ends the battle. I discard an end my turn is that considered turn one?
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Kevinthedude on March 12, 2018, 03:12:29 PM
Okay that makes sense. Now when does the set aside start the count? As soon as my hero is set aside and that ends the battle. I discard an end my turn is that considered turn one?

All incremental effects are incremented during the upkeep phase. The first turn to be counted for you would be your next upkeep phase after that battle.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: The Guardian on March 12, 2018, 03:15:53 PM
Okay that makes sense. Now when does the set aside start the count? As soon as my hero is set aside and that ends the battle. I discard an end my turn is that considered turn one?

All incremental effects are incremented during the upkeep phase. The first turn to be counted for you would be your next upkeep phase after that battle.

Kevinthedude is spot on.
Title: Re: The serpent/turns?
Post by: Jeremystair on March 12, 2018, 03:31:50 PM
Ok sounds good
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal