Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gohanick on November 14, 2008, 07:23:23 PM
-
The Lord Fights for You
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Red/Yellow • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside a Hero. Each upkeep phase while set aside, each player with more than one evil brigade in territory must discard an evil card in his territory.
The online REG defines territory as a players: Lost Souls, Evil Characters, Heroes, artifacts, fortresses and sites.
This brings me to two questions:
1: If a player has a black brigade evil character in play and a crimson curse activated, does this trigger the conditions for The Lord Fights for You?
2: If a player has an evil fortress (defined by a dark multicolor background), does this satisfy the "more than one evil brigade in territory condition?
Also.... according to this logic, would Emperor Vitellius work in this exact way?
Emperor Vitellius
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 10 / 1 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: You may draw X cards. Cannot be negated by a good card. • Attributes: NT Roman Emperor, Fought Earthly Battle, X=number of good brigades opponent has in play
Does that mean if your opponent has Dragon Raid in play, you can draw 8 cards??
-
no it doesn't for 2 but idk about 1
-
1. That counts as two evil brigades.
2. No, that does not. Therwise Job overcomes would be the greatest card in the game.
-
Curses (and Covenants and Sites) have brigades. Fortresses (and Dominants) do not.
-
I was just thinking ... take Emperor Vitellius for example:
Emperor Vitellius
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 10 / 1 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: You may draw X cards. Cannot be negated by a good card. • Attributes: NT Roman Emperor, Fought Earthly Battle, X=number of good brigades opponent has in play
Does that mean if your opponent has Dragon Raid in play, you can draw 8 cards??
-
no, sites AND forts do not have brigades. I was trying to do the EXACT same thing. But it's great to defend Paul... hehe.
-
The Lord Fights for You
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Red/Yellow • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Set aside a Hero. Each upkeep phase while set aside, each player with more than one evil brigade in territory must discard an evil card in his territory.
The online REG defines territory as a players: Lost Souls, Evil Characters, Heroes, artifacts, fortresses and sites.
This brings me to two questions:
1: If a player has a black brigade evil character in play and a crimson curse activated, does this trigger the conditions for The Lord Fights for You?
2: If a player has an evil fortress (defined by a dark multicolor background), does this satisfy the "more than one evil brigade in territory condition?
Also.... according to this logic, would Emperor Vitellius work in this exact way?
Emperor Vitellius
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gray • Ability: 10 / 1 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: You may draw X cards. Cannot be negated by a good card. • Attributes: NT Roman Emperor, Fought Earthly Battle, X=number of good brigades opponent has in play
Does that mean if your opponent has Dragon Raid in play, you can draw 8 cards??
1. Yes.
2. No. Fortresses do not count towards brigades for these purposes.
3. No.
Godspeed,
Mike
-
Are you sure Godspeed? Are curses in a territory? Notice TLFFY specifies territory and not "in play."
-
Look at your artifact pile in the diagram from the rulebook. It is in terr.
-
Are you sure Godspeed? Are curses in a territory? Notice TLFFY specifies territory and not "in play."
I would certainly hope my Art pile is in my territory, otherwise what have I been doing?
See the 10th Anniversary Rulebook, pages 8 and 9 for Player's Card Arrangement
or visit the REG - Redemption Rulebook - Beginning a Game - Player's Card Arrangement.
Godspeed,
Mike
-
Wait, sites count as evil brigades as well? Two Bears just got ten times more awesome...
-
From my understanding... sites themselves are neutral and do not provide any additional colors
the thing that confuses me is.... if sites don't provide extra colors - or count as a brigade.... then how does dragon raid give you access to any color site if dragon raid doesn't provide any colors in its multicolorness?
-
The whole site issue is complicated. Technically, they have good brigades, and they're in your territory, but it seems they don't actually count as extra brigades for special abilities. :dunno:
-
Sites are neutral (not good, not evil). They have a brigade.
Fortresses are either good or evil. They have no brigade.
BubbleBoy, I'm in the same :dunno: camp. I just have to remember it and trust there's logic I don't understand. :)
-
It's easier to think of it as "brigades on good cards" rather than "good brigades". Dragon Raid most certainly has the eight good brigades, but they don't count for the purposes of Vitellius etc. because they're on a neutral card. Goshen is a good card, but has no brigade, so it doesn't count for the purposes of Vitellius, etc.
-
Curses (and Covenants and Sites) have brigades. Fortresses (and Dominants) do not.
Until Schaef retracts this statement, I'm using Two Bears as site access!! ;)
-
Sites aren't evil brigades.
-
Until Schaef retracts this statement, I'm using Two Bears as site access!! ;)
I said that Sites had brigades. I never said Sites were good cards. Since they do not satisfy BOTH requirements (good cards, have brigades), my statement does not change the correct ruling in this situation.
-
Also, Two Bears targets evil brigades, and...
Sites aren't evil brigades.