Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: BubbleBoy on June 18, 2009, 09:57:34 AM

Title: The Jeering Youths & Weakness
Post by: BubbleBoy on June 18, 2009, 09:57:34 AM
If I have Plagued with Diseases (http://redemptionreg.com/REG/plaguedwithdiseases.htm) active and I block with The Jeering Youths (http://redemptionreg.com/REG/thejeeringyouths.htm), using his ability to play Weakness (http://redemptionreg.com/REG/weakness.htm), am I then able to play another enhancement because of Weakness? From then on, am I able to basically play two encancements with Youths when I block, as long as I have PwD active?
Title: Re: The Jeering Youths & Weakness
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 18, 2009, 10:03:40 AM
Weakness specifies that you may "play the first enhancement in battle."  There can only be one first enhancement. Therefore, when you block with The Jeering Youths, his ability activates prior to Weakness triggering.  Therefore, you can either choose to play an OT brown enhancement with him, or choose not to do so, do to his "may" ability, and simply play the first enhancement via Weakness.  The latter would enable you to play NT enhancements as well.  However, if you play via The Jeering Youths, you have already played the "first enhancement," and Weakness no longer does anything.

Kirk
Title: Re: The Jeering Youths & Weakness
Post by: TimMierz on June 18, 2009, 10:07:03 AM
But it's been recently ruled that there's no difference between "play the first enhancement" and "play an enhancement," for instance with Angel's Sword.
Title: Re: The Jeering Youths & Weakness
Post by: Captain Kirk on June 18, 2009, 10:22:36 AM
Oh good point.  For some reason, I thought that it only applied to Angel's Sword.

Bryon's post confirms that the change applies to every card that states "play the first enhancement."
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=14975.msg235171#msg235171 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=14975.msg235171#msg235171)

As I apparently never paid close enough attention to that final ruling, that is interested that you can play two enhancements back to back....  :D]

Kirk

SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal