Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DJWeb on January 16, 2014, 01:06:43 PM

Title: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: DJWeb on January 16, 2014, 01:06:43 PM
If Neb (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Nebuchadnezzar_%28TP%29 (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Nebuchadnezzar_%28TP%29)) is converted to a hero and makes a rescue attempt (assuming no Naz or Daniel hero), can he put a crimson EC in battle to be the blocker? How does this work?
Title: Re: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: TheMarti on January 16, 2014, 01:14:35 PM
In my opinion, he would be considered a Daniel Hero at that point, and therefore his ability would not trigger. But I'm definitely not the top authority there.
Title: Re: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: TimMierz on January 16, 2014, 01:15:44 PM
I agree with Marti. A converted Nebuchadnezzar is a Daniel Hero and therefore the "If no Daniel Hero is in play..." condition cannot be met.
Title: Re: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: The Guardian on January 16, 2014, 01:17:23 PM
The Marti is correct, at that point Nebuchadnezzar is a Daniel Hero.
Title: Re: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: Professoralstad on January 16, 2014, 01:28:15 PM
In aaddition, there is a game rule that Heroes cannot be on the same side of the battle as ECs, and Heroes canot play EEs. So even if the Daniel Hero restriction wasnt there, it still wouldn't work.The only instance I could see an argument for is if he was searching for a DAE like Forest Fire or Drawn Sword, but in this case, the Daniel Hero is still a restriction.
Title: Re: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: DJWeb on January 16, 2014, 04:23:38 PM
Thanks, I figured that wouldn't work, though I had missed that Neb was a Daniel character.

In aaddition, there is a game rule that Heroes cannot be on the same side of the battle as ECs, and Heroes canot play EEs. So even if the Daniel Hero restriction wasnt there, it still wouldn't work.The only instance I could see an argument for is if he was searching for a DAE like Forest Fire or Drawn Sword, but in this case, the Daniel Hero is still a restriction.

I'm a little confused by this. Forgetting about the Daniel restriction, the add EC to battle ability would be more of a band ability than a ctb?
Title: Re: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: browarod on January 16, 2014, 04:37:16 PM
Yes, it would be trying to band to the EC. "Choose the blocker" and "choose the rescuer" abilities have very specific wording, to the effect of "and choose X to block/rescue." Anything else that puts a character on a side of battle that already has one or more characters is considered a band ability.
Title: Re: The Good Nebuchadnezzar
Post by: DJWeb on January 17, 2014, 02:38:07 PM
That makes sense. Thanks everyone.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal