Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on September 10, 2019, 05:20:30 PM

Title: The foretelling angel and deceiver
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on September 10, 2019, 05:20:30 PM
I have TFA active and my opponent RA's with a fbtn hero, i have a daniel card face up on top of deck.  i block with deceiver and search deck for a daniel ec to block. is the ec cbn based on the card that was face up when deciever entered battle? Or is it based on the card that is face up after the deck is searched from deceiver? Does the daniel ec enter battle after the deck is shuffeled from the deciever search or while it is being shuffeled so there is no card face up?
Title: Re: The foretelling angel and deceiver
Post by: kariusvega on September 10, 2019, 06:42:51 PM
abilities are modified when played

i'm going with the ability would be cbn or not based on the card revealed after the shuffle then it would activate

Title: Re: The foretelling angel and deceiver
Post by: The Guardian on September 11, 2019, 12:34:26 PM
abilities are modified when played

i'm going with the ability would be cbn or not based on the card revealed after the shuffle then it would activate

I'm not 100% certain, but intuitively I would agree with the above. The shuffle in this case is not actually an ability so it doesn't happen "in order" with the other abilities resolving, it's simply a game function that happens by default whenever a deck is searched. So the target for Deceiver is determined, the deck is shuffled, the top card is revealed and the Deceiver target is put into play and then its ability resolves (which is CBN or not based on the top card).
Title: Re: The foretelling angel and deceiver
Post by: Gabe on September 11, 2019, 12:51:56 PM
I agree with JD and Justin.