Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on November 01, 2016, 06:35:37 PM
-
Had this scenario come in a game today and would like verification:
If I play Siegeworks (FooF), can I then place it on Noah's Ark (which is played to set-aside area), or any other fortress that's set-aside, or does it only have to be played on a fortress in-play? Siegeworks simply says "...and place this card on a site or fortress. Negate that card." Is the ability referring to a fortress that's in-play only, and since it doesn't specify in-play or set-aside area, does it default to only fortresses that are in play? Some cards, such as Assyrian Siege Army, specify to negate and discard a fortress in play or set-aside area, but Siegeworks doesn't.
In the above scenario, I played Siegeworks and put it on my opponent's Noah's Ark. On my next rescue attempt, he played Continuous Evil from territory and targeted Siegeworks. I told him he couldn't play it because Siegeworks was in set-aside and is considered out of play and therefore is not in his territory. But that got me thinking about Siegeworks and if I should have even played SW from the beginning since Noah's Ark is out of play too.
And is the set-aside area still not considered a part of my or my opponent's territory, or has this changed? A reference card that I have from one of the older starter decks shows the the territory of a player in-play, but the set-aside area was not in-play and was not included as the player's territory. I just want to make sure this hasn't changed.
-
All targeted abilities default to play if no location is specified, so SW cannot be placed on a set-aside fortress. As for territory definition, here is the REG entry:
Each player controls an area in the Field of Play referred to as his territory. A player’s territory is where he can put his Artifacts (the Artifact Pile is in territory), characters,
Fortresses, and Sites. The player’s Land of Bondage, where he keeps Lost Souls he controls, is also in the territory.
This does not include each player's set-aside area.
-
Thought so. Thanks for confirming, Kevin. You may continue your debate with JD. ;)