Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: soul seeker on August 21, 2009, 10:43:41 AM

Title: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: soul seeker on August 21, 2009, 10:43:41 AM
Hey everyone,
   Can some of the more experienced let me know how territory class works exactly?  The way some of the new cards are worded confuse me.  It is my understanding that territory class enhancements can go in one's territory to gain it's benefit similar to an artifact.  However, some of them are worded as if they need to be in battle.  I need to know exactly how they work please.  I couldn't find anything in the REG about them and we know there's not a new rule book.  So any help is appreciated.   :)
Title: Re: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: TimMierz on August 21, 2009, 10:45:15 AM
From the Image of Jealousy article:

"That icon denotes a new type of enhancement: Territory Class.  These Enhancements can be played during your preparation or discard phase on a character of matching brigade in your territory.

Like healing Enhancements, they give their effect immediately and are immediately discarded (unless the special ability tells you to place them somewhere else, like this card does).  Alternatively, they can be played in battle, obeying the rules of initiative."
Title: Re: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: Gabe on August 21, 2009, 10:46:46 AM
Just read the explanation on the inside of your TexP box.  ;)

A territory class enhancement can be played outside of battle (during the prep or discard phase).  It's played just like a normal enhancement except that it doesn't have to be played it battle.  Apart from that they're just enhancements that do exactly what they say.  Some get placed in a specified location, some complete their ability and go directly to the discard pile.
Title: Re: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: soul seeker on August 21, 2009, 11:19:02 AM
yeah, thanks Gabe, let me go read that...oh wait.  There seems to be a problem.   :laugh:

In all seriousness, can I lay it in territory to wait and decide when to activate it like an artifact?  Or does it activate immediately like an enhancement would in battle?


Thanks for the posts so far guys.
Title: Re: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: Professoralstad on August 21, 2009, 11:25:41 AM
From the TexP box:

Quote
Territory Class Enhancements are a new card type. These enhancements can be played similar to healing enhancements in that they may be activated on a character of matching brigade in your territory.

Like healing enhancements, they give their effect immediately and are immediately discarded (unless the special ability tells you to place them somewhere else). Alternatively, they can be played in battle, obeying the rules of initiative.

That should help.  :)
Title: Re: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on August 21, 2009, 11:39:58 AM
+1 to prof, gabe, and tim.

You can play it like a normal enhancement outside of battle, and unless it says to place it on something, it works and is discarded.

Examples.

Destructive sin, if you have an orange EC out, you can go ahead and slap it on any hero in play.

Divination, play this, and you get to look at the top 6 cards I believe it is instantly. Once the effect is done, the enhancement goes byebye.
Title: Re: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: The Schaef on August 21, 2009, 02:17:40 PM
It works just like a healing card or a set-aside card: you can play them in battle and use them on that character, or play them in territory outside of battle and use them at that moment.
Title: Re: Territory Class works how exactly?
Post by: metalpsalm on August 22, 2009, 04:20:26 AM
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fhome.earthlink.net%2F%7Emetalpsalm%2FHoney%2520from%2520the%2520Rock.jpg&hash=7ceedb4795e8f87211b2a332babd952337058f8b)
Aint it perty?
If this was a real card, you would play it on a Gold Hero in your discard phase, then place it on a Good Fortress in play where it would stay as an asset until discarded. Or you can use it in battle for the numbers, and its SA kicks is afterwards unless it gets negated.
So, in other words, follow the game rules unless the text says differently
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal