Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Bobbert on May 07, 2018, 02:54:04 PM

Title: Teams Question
Post by: Bobbert on May 07, 2018, 02:54:04 PM
Watchful Servant: X = # of cards in opponent's deck

How does this interact with Teams? I know that territory is shared, but this seems different. My thought would be that it depends on which player blocks, so the opposing team's Goliath (belonging to a player with <10 cards left) would be ignored but not the other player's Red Dragon (if they have 20 cards left). Is this correct?
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: TheJaylor on May 07, 2018, 02:58:59 PM
Watchful Servant: X = # of cards in opponent's deck

How does this interact with Teams? I know that territory is shared, but this seems different. My thought would be that it depends on which player blocks, so the opposing team's Goliath (belonging to a player with <10 cards left) would be ignored but not the other player's Red Dragon (if they have 20 cards left). Is this correct?
It may not be the actual way it works but the logical way is that the Evil Characters of each player are ignored by a different requirement. So, for instance, I attack with Watchful Servant and my opponents have 8 and 10 cards left in their decks then I ignore the one player's ECs of toughness (or strength, I forget) greater than 8 and the other player's EC's of toughness greater than 10, respectively.
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: The Guardian on May 07, 2018, 03:03:17 PM
I would agree with the above assessment.
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: Bobbert on May 08, 2018, 11:54:07 AM
Good to know. On a definitely-not-at-all-related question, how does Abom work in teams? I tried searching but didn't find anything.
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: The Guardian on May 08, 2018, 12:15:33 PM
Same as 2P--the person whose territory it's in gets hit by the person who placed Abom.
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: Bobbert on May 08, 2018, 12:28:45 PM
Cool. So getting abom on both opponents would require both teammates playing Greeks (or some Storehouse shenanigans)?


Also, forts are shared, correct? If I have abom in one opponent's territory, can I use it to hit a fort in the other's?
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: The Guardian on May 08, 2018, 12:30:10 PM
Well Abom is one per territory so the best you could do is have one teammate targeting one opponent and the second teammate targeting the other opponent.
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: Bobbert on May 08, 2018, 12:34:57 PM
I thought abom was placed in opponent's territory; in theory couldn't the same player put one in each opponent's territory (again assuming Storehouse)? Or does teams work differently than I think it does?
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: Gabe on May 08, 2018, 01:17:00 PM
I thought abom was placed in opponent's territory; in theory couldn't the same player put one in each opponent's territory (again assuming Storehouse)? Or does teams work differently than I think it does?
It's in the identifier

Spoiler (hover to show)
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: Bobbert on May 08, 2018, 01:35:43 PM
So it is shared between territories?

I think I'm getting confused about how Teams territories work. In an effort to be clear, I'm going to post a statement of how I currently understand the card works. Is this correct? If not, could you please correct it and include the entire, correct statement?
In Teams, if one teammate places Abomination of Desolation in an opponent's territory, it is considered in the opposing team's shared territory. When either opposing player draws a card, the team that controls Abom may discard one card in either opponent's territory.

On a related note, where can I find the rules for teams? I didn't see them in the REG, and the rulebook I found is just the I/J one so it only talks about vanilla T1 (though it mentions a more complete rulebook).
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: The Guardian on May 08, 2018, 01:42:00 PM
That is not correct. Territories are not shared in TEAMS, only Lands of Bondage. Fortresses are shared and are thus considered to be in each player's individual territory. Therefore if I played a card that said "discard a card in opponent's territory" and you were my opponent, I could discard a Fortress that your teammate had in territory because it's considered to be in both his and your territories.
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: Bobbert on May 08, 2018, 01:48:08 PM
Okay, so the statement again with amended/new bits italicized:
In Teams, if one teammate places Abomination of Desolation in an opponent's territory, it is considered in that opponent's territory. When that opposing player draws a card, the team that controls Abom may discard one card in that opponent's territory. If both teammates have an Abom in their deck, it is possible that both opponents can have Abom in their territory at the same time.


I'm sorry - I'm not trying to be difficult, just trying to understand how this works.
Title: Re: Teams Question
Post by: TheJaylor on May 08, 2018, 09:35:14 PM
Okay, so the statement again with amended/new bits italicized:
In Teams, if one teammate places Abomination of Desolation in an opponent's territory, it is considered in that opponent's territory. When that opposing player draws a card, the team that controls Abom may discard one card in that opponent's territory. If both teammates have an Abom in their deck, it is possible that both opponents can have Abom in their territory at the same time.


I'm sorry - I'm not trying to be difficult, just trying to understand how this works.
Yes, that's accurate, with the minor clarification that the "player (effectively the team, but not technically) that placed Abom" gets to discard one card. Everybody has their own territory and any cards in their territory (including Abom) except cards in Land of Bondage, Fortresses, and cards in Fortresses are not shared.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal