Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RoyCannaday on September 06, 2009, 09:28:09 AM

Title: Teams Qs
Post by: RoyCannaday on September 06, 2009, 09:28:09 AM
1.

In teams play can me and my team mate
have the same nongeneric hero or Ec
in play?

2.

If me and my team mate have 2 diffrent
king amaziahs can I use my king a if he has
already used his?

Thanx
Roy
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: BubbleBoy on September 06, 2009, 09:39:41 AM
1. I believe so, but I don't know the rules for teams yet.

2. I always thought that the restriction on King Amaziah's ability, "Special ability may be used once per game," stopped any player in any kind of game from using his ability after it had been used once by anyone else.

(King Amaziah (http://redemptionreg.com/REG/LinkedDocuments/King%20Amaziah%20(Ki).gif))
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: RoyCannaday on September 06, 2009, 09:46:21 AM
I Know at nats a wiiiiiiile back me and my
opponent would both use our oun king a
but I dident know if that has changed

can we get some more input on this?!


3. Can I setaside my team mates heroes?
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: SirNobody on September 06, 2009, 03:40:13 PM
Hey,

The ruling regarding King Amaziah has not changed.  His ability can be used once per player per game so each player can use the same King Amaziah's ability once.

I do not know how teams manages that thought so I will defer for now on the mechanics of teams side of the question.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: RoyCannaday on September 06, 2009, 06:43:19 PM
Hey,

The ruling regarding King Amaziah has not changed.  His ability can be used once per player per game so each player can use the same King Amaziah's ability once.

I do not know how teams manages that thought so I will defer for now on the mechanics of teams side of the question.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

so that's a yes/maybe/idk? Lol
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: Prof Underwood on September 06, 2009, 09:40:53 PM
When I ran TEAMS at Nats '08, the answer to both of your questions was "yes" :)
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: RoyCannaday on September 06, 2009, 10:05:58 PM
For the win!
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: BubbleBoy on September 06, 2009, 11:06:32 PM
Well, Tim disagrees with that. King A says, "SA may be used once per game." It doesn't specify by which players, so I think we should assume it applies to all players, meaning first come first serve.
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: Gabe on September 06, 2009, 11:21:58 PM
Well, Tim disagrees with that. King A says, "SA may be used once per game." It doesn't specify by which players, so I think we should assume it applies to all players, meaning first come first serve.

You might want to re-read Tim's post.

His ability can be used once per player per game so each player can use the same King Amaziah's ability once.

You can use your King A.  Then (provided I also haven't used King A's ability this game) I can band to and use your King A because I'm a different player.  The same holds true for cards like Jephthah and High Priest Annas.

That's been the rule as long as I've played and it hasn't changed.
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: BubbleBoy on September 06, 2009, 11:29:01 PM
Well, by Tim...I meant me. ::) (Sorry Tim, I think I'm tired. :P)

Is the phrase "once per game" defined in the rules? Because I always assume things mean what they say, but you're saying there's really an assumed "per player" at the end of that phrase, which completely changes the meaning.
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: Minister Polarius on September 07, 2009, 01:37:14 AM
I agree, otherwise it'd be a race to see which player gets to their "once (twice) per" cards first, even in 2-player.
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: Gabe on September 07, 2009, 08:21:09 AM
Is the phrase "once per game" defined in the rules?

Probably not and it doesn't need to be.  Once per game is very clear as to what it means.  It literally means once per game.  The question is, who does that apply to?

Cards are read from the holders (or controllers) perspective.  Therefore anyone who controls a card that can be used once per game can use it once per game, regardless of whether another player has used it already.
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: RoyCannaday on September 07, 2009, 10:02:32 AM
So in teams that's a yes?
Title: Re: Teams Qs
Post by: Gabe on September 07, 2009, 01:56:13 PM
So in teams that's a yes?

I would assume so.  Rob hasn't posted the official rules for teams yet but I imagine they will be the same, or at least very similar, to what was used at Nationals the past two years.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal