Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on March 24, 2015, 12:23:36 PM

Title: TC character abilities
Post by: Josh on March 24, 2015, 12:23:36 PM
For ongoing CBI abilities, how do they interact with negation?  I have two examples to clarify:

1.  I put Priest of Zeus in play, which has a CBI TC ability.  On my opponent's turn, he activates CWD.  Is Priest of Zeus negated at the beginning of the next phase?

Priest of Zeus - If an opponent draws because of their special ability, you may discard a card in that player's territory (except a Lost Soul). Cannot be interrupted.

2.  I have Madness activated on my artifact pile.  My opponent attacks with Cornelius.  Can I add Madness to battle anyways, since it is ongoing and CBI?

Madness - If opponent’s Hero is in battle, you may convert this card to an orange brigade Evil Character and add it to battle. Cannot be interrupted.

Cornelius - Site access. Negate special abilities on Artifacts and Characters (except Acts Characters). May band to Peter or an Acts angel. Cannot be prevented.
Title: Re: TC character abilities
Post by: kram1138 on March 24, 2015, 01:09:02 PM
1: no
2: yes
Title: Re: TC character abilities
Post by: jbeers285 on March 24, 2015, 01:10:45 PM
My understand from Justin is that PoZ is constantly checking so the phase after CWD was activated PoZ would then be negated.

For Madness I think it would depend on when we rule it checks during battle phase.  If it checks prior to a hero entering battle then you should be able to add it.  If battle phase doesn't begin until all Heroes abilities are complete then it would be negated by Cornelius.
Title: Re: TC character abilities
Post by: Redoubter on March 24, 2015, 01:25:44 PM
My understand from Justin is that PoZ is constantly checking so the phase after CWD was activated PoZ would then be negated.

Not quite.

Territory-Class Character
Territory Class characters have abilities that activate when placed in battle in the same way as all other characters.  The abilities also activate each time the character is placed in a territory.  Territory Class character abilities that are active outside of battle are active while the character remains in the territory.  This also means that their ability ends when they leave battle or territory.

It is not actually 'continuously checking' each phase, it is activating at the moment they hit battle or territory; once they hit territory, it remains active while they remain in territory.

Once Priest of Zeus is placed in territory, the ability continues while he remains there, and cannot be interrupted.  Covenant with Death played afterwards will not negate him, but one played prior will.  If he enters battle, he activates again, and Covenant with Death could negate him then, or negate him once he returns to territory, which is another activation.

Similarly for Madness, it cannot be interrupted once activated, and thus Cornelius is not able to interrupt it upon entering battle for that phase.
Title: Re: TC character abilities
Post by: jbeers285 on March 24, 2015, 01:37:56 PM
I assume then that I misunderstood my conversation with Justin since he tends to be right about head things.
Title: Re: TC character abilities
Post by: The Guardian on March 24, 2015, 06:19:28 PM
You did not misunderstand me--that's pretty much what I said. Please stand-by...  :)
Title: Re: TC character abilities
Post by: Josh on June 15, 2015, 12:04:47 PM
Territory-Class Character
Once Priest of Zeus is placed in territory, the ability continues while he remains there, and cannot be interrupted.  Covenant with Death played afterwards will not negate him, but one played prior will.  If he enters battle, he activates again, and Covenant with Death could negate him then, or negate him once he returns to territory, which is another activation.

I have a follow-up question that is related to my original post.  Suppose CWD is active before Priest of Zeus hits the table. It has been deemed that leaving an artifact active through a Prep phase technically deactivates and reactivates that same artifact.  Since Priest of Zeus is ongoing and CBI, does he "activate" when CWD is deemed to deactivate and reactivate?
Title: Re: TC character abilities
Post by: Praeceps on June 15, 2015, 02:56:27 PM
Nope. PoZ would only be ongoing if he had actually activated, but he didn't since he was prevented by CwD. PoZ doesn't get another chance to reactivate until he is placed in battle or re-placed in territory.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal