Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on May 26, 2009, 12:31:55 PM

Title: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: Gabe on May 26, 2009, 12:31:55 PM
The Amalekite's Slave is a unique character.  I control one in my territory.  My opponent blocks with TAS and use his SA. 

Can my opponent give me their TAS since I already control one?  I know that a card can force you to control a unique character but TAS is optional, so can they choose to cause duplicate unique characters when it's optional?

If they can I assume I get to choose which one to discard?

The Amalekites' Slave
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Gold/Brown • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If blocking, you may place this card in opponent's Land of Bondage to search your deck for a human Evil Character and add it to the battle.
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: Prof Underwood on May 26, 2009, 03:53:43 PM
I'm also interested in what the ruling is on this one :)
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: YourMathTeacher on May 26, 2009, 05:45:00 PM
I'm not sure how helpful it would be other than searching for a new EC, since you can choose to discard the one in your Land of Bondage.

Instant Abilities > Capture > How to Use

Captured characters retain their identity, therefore must conform to the restrictions of duplicates in play.  Should a character by the same name be already in a player’s territory or set aside area, the holder of the duplicates determines which duplicate to discard. 
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: SirNobody on May 26, 2009, 07:12:47 PM
Hey,

Can my opponent give me their TAS since I already control one?  I know that a card can force you to control a unique character but TAS is optional, so can they choose to cause duplicate unique characters when it's optional?

If they can I assume I get to choose which one to discard?

I'm going to say yes your opponent can give you their TAS even though you already control one.  (It techncally goes against what the REG says about duplicates, but we've been ignoring that part of the REG for years so why change now).

Yes when you have two copies of The Amalekites' Slave in your territory you choose which of them to discard.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: Kevin Shride on May 27, 2009, 05:06:37 PM
I would agree with Tim.  When your opponent activates his TAS's ability, he completes the ability, regardless of the presence of yours.  However, upon completing the ability, you have the right to discard one (I double dare you to choose your evil character!).

Kevin Shride
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: Gabe on May 27, 2009, 09:05:49 PM
YMT, Kevin & Tim, thanks for your confirmation on this.  That's how Prof and I decided to play it, but we weren't sure it was right.

So unless someone authoratative steps in and says otherwise I'll assume this is correct this these guys tend to know their stuff.  :)
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: Ironica on May 28, 2009, 09:35:56 AM
I would agree with Tim.  When your opponent activates his TAS's ability, he completes the ability, regardless of the presence of yours.  However, upon completing the ability, you have the right to discard one (I double dare you to choose your evil character!).

Kevin Shride

I believe in another tread that it was ruled that in this situation, you HAVE to discard your evil character.
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: crustpope on May 28, 2009, 09:58:47 AM
No.  I dont believe it.  Show me the thread and then we can talk
Title: Re: TAS and duplicate characters
Post by: YourMathTeacher on May 28, 2009, 08:03:29 PM
I believe in another tread that it was ruled that in this situation, you HAVE to discard your evil character.

That would contradict the REG quote I gave, so you may want to confirm the previous thread ruling.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal