Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RedemptionAggie on May 22, 2009, 09:18:30 PM
-
Tartaros:
All demons that holder captures, discards, or has in Land of Bondage are placed in Tartaros. Release one demon to holder's territory from Tartaros when one of holder's demons wins in battle.
Wanderer LS:
If this card is in your territory during your preparation phase, you may exchange it with a Lost Soul in an opponent’s territory (except another copy of this card).
If you exchange the Wanderer LS for a captured demon in your opponent's LoB, when would the bolded part of Tartaros' SA allow you to place it in Tartaros (if ever)?
Nebushasban:
You may exchange a Lost Soul in opponent’s territory with a Lost Soul in your territory.
What about using Nebushasban (in the battle phase)?
(This has actually been an issue since Tartaros came out, if you fell away a redeemed demon.)
-
If I were to make a guess, I would say Prep. phase, which in this case would be immediately.
-
I'm not sure you would have to wait for a Prep Phase. The other uses of the fortress are active during the Battle Phase. I see no reason why the same would not hold true for the last part of the same sentence.
-
First of all, as I said, that was just a guess; secondly, if I'm understanding correctly, I believe we reached the same ultimate conclusion, so what's the big deal anyway? ;)
-
I was clarifying what I thought was ultimately the question.
-
There, I added Nebushasban to the question, and he doesn't take place in the prep phase.
-
See. I knew he was up to something. ;)
Fortresses like Goshen and Kingdoms have "Play As" or reprinting that say they can only be used in the Prep Phase. Tartaros has no such "Play As."
-
For most fortresses, where you can add/remove characters more or less at will, you're restricted to the prep phase. The RoA fortresses can hold characters, but never mention when you can put them in/remove them, so they default to the prep phase. I don't think Tartaros is subject to that, though.
And I wasn't actually up to anything, but being able to put an exchanged demon in Tartaros immediately does open some interesting possibilities.
-
The RoA fortresses can hold characters, but never mention when you can put them in/remove them, so they default to the prep phase.
The RoA fortresses indicate what they can "hold" in the identifier section. That section is governed by defaults. Tartaros has a Special Ability that is always active. I agree with you that Tartaros does not follow the same defaults, otherwise it would never be able to hold demons that you discard. They would be out of play by the time your Prep Phase rolls around.
-
For most fortresses, where you can add/remove characters more or less at will, you're restricted to the prep phase. The RoA fortresses can hold characters, but never mention when you can put them in/remove them, so they default to the prep phase. I don't think Tartaros is subject to that, though.
I was under the impression I could add a character to House of Bethany or another RoA fortress during my d/c phase if I felt like it... :scratch:
Kirk