Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on March 11, 2009, 10:45:15 AM

Title: Tartaros - set aside?
Post by: Gabe on March 11, 2009, 10:45:15 AM
Tartaros is set-aside.  It has been errata'd as such for a while, but I think it's more of a condition and not a special ability that says "set this Fortress aside".
Schaef, I agree that it would make sense to have Tartaros play to the set-aside area because it's part of the spiritual realm, not the physical realm (like Chamber of Angels).  But I can't find anything to indicate that it's actually played this way.

The REG doesn't show any errata.
Quote from: REG
Tartaros
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: All demons that holder captures, discards, or has in Land of Bondage are placed in Tartaros. Release one demon to holder's territory from Tartaros when one of holder's demons wins in battle. • Identifiers: None • Verse: II Peter 2:4 • Availability: Apostles booster packs (Uncommon)
The REG doesn't list it as a set aside card.* (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/default.htm?turl=setasidecards1.htm)

It's not on the list of errata'd cards. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=24.0)

Any idea what might have happened to the errata? 

*It doesn't list any Fortresses as set-aside cards and I'm sure Chamber of Angels should be on that list.
Title: Re: Tartaros - set aside?
Post by: The Schaef on March 11, 2009, 10:48:44 AM
The list of set-aside cards is for cards with a special ability that sets other cards aside.  I don't think it's intended for Forts that are placed/located in the set-aside area.

And it's not about what "makes sense", because this is not my opinion.  The card was errata'd to the set-aside area.  I don't know where the documentation on it has gone to, I just know what the rule is.
Title: Re: Tartaros - set aside?
Post by: STAMP on March 11, 2009, 10:52:25 AM
 +1
Title: Re: Tartaros - set aside?
Post by: Gabe on July 22, 2009, 12:10:20 AM
 :bump:

Mike, can this errata be added to the REG?
Title: Re: Tartaros - set aside?
Post by: frisian9 on July 22, 2009, 01:11:02 AM
I don't think this is a clear-cut move yet. Schaef is correct that it is not a set-aside card. However, it could be errata'd. To do that, it will take more discussion and a statement from Rob. I like your reasoning though Gabe.

Mike
Title: Re: Tartaros - set aside?
Post by: SirNobody on July 22, 2009, 01:42:09 AM
Hey,

I don't think this is a clear-cut move yet. Schaef is correct that it is not a set-aside card. However, it could be errata'd. To do that, it will take more discussion and a statement from Rob. I like your reasoning though Gabe.

Rob did make a statement that Tartaros is played to the set aside area.  He just made it some 6-7 years ago when the decision was first made.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal