Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: NWJosh on July 07, 2009, 06:35:04 PM

Title: Targetting brigades
Post by: NWJosh on July 07, 2009, 06:35:04 PM
Ok I know there was a long discussion about this question but I can't seem to find it and so if someone who made a ruling on this could answer the question or direct me to the post that would be great.

I attack with a Green prophet and have Hidden treasure up and so I get to play a card and I play Two Bears.  This allows me to shuffle one card from each evil brigade in play. Lets say my opponent has 2 pale green, 2 gray and SELF out.  Can I target 1 PG, 1 Gray and then self?  I know that if I target self first I can't target anything else.  I'm not looking for opinions really just a flat out ruling because I think we had one.
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: TimMierz on July 07, 2009, 06:44:49 PM
Self is in play, so you can target one PG, one Gray, one Orange, one Gold, one Brown... outside of PG and Gray, the orange, gold, brown,.... targets will be Self, but you can target a separate PG one and a separate Gray one.
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: The Schaef on July 07, 2009, 10:26:22 PM
Tim is correct.  You can target every brigade that is on the table.  It's up to you to decide which Evil Character is going to represent that brigade.

Be warned that if you have more than one brigade in play yourself, you might get bit with this.  Example, opponent has PG, gray and Self, you have crimson and black.  You can discard Self to represent black but you would still have to dump a crimson, or vice versa.
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: NWJosh on July 09, 2009, 01:58:33 PM
Yeah I knew about having to target myself, thanks for the input guys.
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: FresnoRedemption on July 10, 2009, 08:19:29 PM
So let me see if I've got this straight: Since Self is multi-color, then that means an evil character from every brigade can now be targeted for discard...but even though Self is multicolor, he doesn't represent every color? For the purposes of being chosen for discard, Self would only represent one brigade?
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: Kyp Henderson on July 10, 2009, 08:22:33 PM
Does this also mean you can shuffle curses like Unknown Nation?
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: D-man on July 11, 2009, 03:28:22 PM
For the purposes of being chosen for discard, Self would only represent one brigade?
Yes, he would only represent one brigade.  The player using the card that says "for each brigade" gets to choose.  It would appear that that is what Schaef and Tim are saying.

Quote
So let me see if I've got this straight: Since Self is multi-color, then that means an evil character from every brigade can now be targeted for discard...but even though Self is multicolor, he doesn't represent every color?
Not an EC from every brigade...an EC from any brigade.  In this situation, Self does not represent every color, but he does represent any color.
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: FresnoRedemption on July 13, 2009, 01:42:31 AM
For the purposes of being chosen for discard, Self would only represent one brigade?
Yes, he would only represent one brigade.  The player using the card that says "for each brigade" gets to choose.  It would appear that that is what Schaef and Tim are saying.

Quote
So let me see if I've got this straight: Since Self is multi-color, then that means an evil character from every brigade can now be targeted for discard...but even though Self is multicolor, he doesn't represent every color?
Not an EC from every brigade...an EC from any brigade.  In this situation, Self does not represent every color, but he does represent any color.


Ah, I see. So if your opponent is playing crimson and black (for the sake of argument), and has Self in play, then you can shuffle a crimson evil character, a black evil character, and Self by using him from, say, pale green, back into their deck?
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: Professoralstad on July 13, 2009, 09:41:31 AM
Ah, I see. So if your opponent is playing crimson and black (for the sake of argument), and has Self in play, then you can shuffle a crimson evil character, a black evil character, and Self by using him from, say, pale green, back into their deck?

That is correct.
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: NWJosh on July 13, 2009, 10:19:20 AM
Does this also mean you can shuffle curses like Unknown Nation?

Yes you can shuffle UN in as well as Captured Ark if its out, but that counts for that brigade  (I'm 99% sure of this so if someone could give me and "I AGREE" that would be great)
Title: Re: Targetting brigades
Post by: D-man on July 13, 2009, 01:15:55 PM
I AGREE. :)

Also, if you so desire, you could shuffle enhancements that they have played (in battle or territory).  Since it is an "interrupt...shuffle" card, Two Bears can also "negate" EEs in much the same way that Devourer "negates" GEs.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal