Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: EmJayBee83 on July 20, 2018, 12:07:48 PM

Title: Targeting Questions Covenants/Curses
Post by: EmJayBee83 on July 20, 2018, 12:07:48 PM
I have a number of relatively simple statements that represent my knowledge about the targeting of Covenants/Curses.  Can someone look these over and tell me which are incorrect?

I can target a Covenant or Curse anywhere targetable as a card or general modified card (e.g., a card, and old testament card, a card depicting an idol).
 
In deck/reserver/discard/hand...
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Covenant (Curse).
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Good (Evil) Enhancement.
I can target a Covenant or Curse as an Artifact.
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Good (Evil) card
I can target a Covenant or Curse by its brigade (or brigades)
I can target a Covenant or Curse by its numbers.
I can target a Covenant or Curse by any words in its SA.

When used as an enhancement...
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Covenant (Curse).
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Good (Evil) Enhancement.
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Good (Evil) card
I can target a Covenant or Curse by its brigade (or brigades)
I can target a Covenant or Curse by its numbers.
I can target a Covenant or Curse by words in its general or enhancement SA
I cannot target a Covenant or Curse as an Artifact.
I cannot target a Covenant or Curse by words in its artifact SA

When used as an artifact...
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Covenant (Curse).
I can target a Covenant or Curse as an Artifact.
I can target a Covenant (Curse) as a Good (Evil) card
I can target a Covenant or Curse by its brigade (or brigades)
I can target a Covenant or Curse by its numbers
I can target a Covenant or Curse by words in its general or artifact SA
I cannot target a Covenant (Curse) as a Good (Evil) Enhancement.
I cannot target a Covenant or Curse by words in its enhancement SA

Title: Re: Targeting Questions Covenants/Curses
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on July 20, 2018, 12:11:22 PM
Under "use an an artifact" your third, forth, and fifth statements are incorrect
Title: Re: Targeting Questions Covenants/Curses
Post by: Bobbert on July 20, 2018, 12:13:20 PM
To elaborate:

Quote from: REG, entry on Covenants (pg 90)
"A Covenant that is activated or put in the Artifact pile can no longer be targeted as an enhancement and it is a neutral card with no brigade."
Title: Re: Targeting Questions Covenants/Curses
Post by: EmJayBee83 on July 20, 2018, 12:28:37 PM
To elaborate:

Quote from: REG, entry on Covenants (pg 90)
"A Covenant that is activated or put in the Artifact pile can no longer be targeted as an enhancement and it is a neutral card with no brigade."

Under "use an an artifact" your third, forth, and fifth statements are incorrect         <==  Comment from RDT  [mjb quoting not working]


So the REG entry should read...

A Covenant that is activated or put in the Artifact pile can no longer be targeted as **a curse or** an enhancement and it is a neutral card with no brigade.


Also I want to be clear about the SA.

When a curse has an SA that says "Enhancement: Does X.  Artifact: Does Y" is activated as an artifact, I can no longer target it by a card that "contains 'X'".
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal