Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on March 22, 2014, 05:47:43 PM
-
Does Hazael's ability allow my opponent to discard a face-down artifact?
King Hazael - You may discard a gray brigade enhancement from hand to discard an O.T. Fortress or occupied Site. Opponent may discard one of his Artifacts instead.
-
An artifact is an artifact face up, or face down so I would say yes your opponent can discard an artifact.
-
No, they cannot discard a card face-down in artifact pile.
Face Down
Face Down cards are cards in territories, battle, and set-aside areas that are face down either due to special ability, or are inactive artifacts in an artifact pile. Face down cards have no abilities, brigade, titles, or identifiers while they are face down. The only known attribute of a face down card is the card type. Face down cards are only targetable by abilities that specify they can target face down cards or inactive artifacts, or cards that can target any or all cards in a location. When a face down card enters battle, it is immediately flipped face up, unless otherwise specified by the special ability that flipped it face down.
Uzzah (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Uzzah_(FF)) lets you target face-down artifacts (and those in hand) because it says so. King Hazael (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/King_Hazael_(RA)) does not because he doesn't say so.
With Hazael, the opponent may only discard their face-up artifact from play to instead the ability.
-
Derp can't believe I missed that in the REG :P
-
Derp can't believe I missed that in the REG :P
To be fair it is a relatively recent rule change (within the last year, can't remember precisely) that was then added to the REG.
-
No, they cannot discard a card face-down in artifact pile.
Face Down
Face Down cards are cards in territories, battle, and set-aside areas that are face down either due to special ability, or are inactive artifacts in an artifact pile. Face down cards have no abilities, brigade, titles, or identifiers while they are face down. The only known attribute of a face down card is the card type. Face down cards are only targetable by abilities that specify they can target face down cards or inactive artifacts, or cards that can target any or all cards in a location. When a face down card enters battle, it is immediately flipped face up, unless otherwise specified by the special ability that flipped it face down.
Uzzah (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Uzzah_(FF)) lets you target face-down artifacts (and those in hand) because it says so. King Hazael (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/King_Hazael_(RA)) does not because he doesn't say so.
With Hazael, the opponent may only discard their face-up artifact from play to instead the ability.
So, this doesn't really have to do with face-down cards but it's the same principle, why can I attack with a hero from my hand if my opponent blocked me with Goliath? Goliath is technically the one bringing the hero into battle, that's why Wall of Protection protects your heroes in territory from entering battle, but why can Goliath "target" the heroes in my hand if they're not in play?
-
Goliath (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Goliath_(P)): Return all Heroes in battle to territory (except giant-slayers). Opponent may present a new Hero. Negate all band, draw, and play abilities. Cannot be negated.
How to Play
If a card allows a player to present a character, that player may add a character to battle from hand or territory.
All present abilities are instantaneous. A present ability targets the cards that are to be added to battle.
Default Conditions
Targets must be in a hand or territory
A player may only use a present ability if there are no characters on his side of the battle.
Note that this means that Wall of Protection (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Wall_of_Protection_(Ap)) protects heroes in your territory from Goliath's Present ability, but you can still Present one from hand.
-
Goliath (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Goliath_(P)): Return all Heroes in battle to territory (except giant-slayers). Opponent may present a new Hero. Negate all band, draw, and play abilities. Cannot be negated.
How to Play
If a card allows a player to present a character, that player may add a character to battle from hand or territory.
All present abilities are instantaneous. A present ability targets the cards that are to be added to battle.
Default Conditions
Targets must be in a hand or territory
A player may only use a present ability if there are no characters on his side of the battle.
Huh. I guess that answers my question. :P
-
Goliath (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Goliath_(P)): Return all Heroes in battle to territory (except giant-slayers). Opponent may present a new Hero. Negate all band, draw, and play abilities. Cannot be negated.
How to Play
If a card allows a player to present a character, that player may add a character to battle from hand or territory.
All present abilities are instantaneous. A present ability targets the cards that are to be added to battle.
Default Conditions
Targets must be in a hand or territory
A player may only use a present ability if there are no characters on his side of the battle.
Note that this means that Wall of Protection (http://redemption.wikia.com/wiki/Wall_of_Protection_(Ap)) protects heroes in your territory from Goliath's Present ability, but you can still Present one from hand.
So if I Have Wall of Protection up, and hey presents Goliath I can't present a new hero? Unless its from my hand? Or I can choose not to present a new hero.? Sorry just kinda ocnfused. Haha
-
So if I Have Wall of Protection up, and hey presents Goliath I can't present a new hero? Unless its from my hand? Or I can choose not to present a new hero.? Sorry just kinda ocnfused. Haha
Wall of Protection protects characters in your territory from any ability used by an opponent that would bring them into battle. Even though you are the one who would be presenting the hero, your opponent's Goliath is still the one doing the 'targeting' to bring that character in; the ones in your territory are protected from being brought in by that ability. So you could still present one from hand, but if you do not (or if you choose not to), then you just can't add one to battle.
-
Thanks for the clarification! Time to throw WOP Into my deck.. Hahaha