Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SwiftxRedemption on September 13, 2015, 10:38:56 PM

Title: Targeting cards outside of combat
Post by: SwiftxRedemption on September 13, 2015, 10:38:56 PM
Can you target cards outside of combat without a territory being specified? For instance, AotL reads 'Discard an evil character.' Could this target a character outside of combat?
Title: Re: Targeting cards outside of combat
Post by: Drrek on September 13, 2015, 10:39:48 PM
Yes.  AoTL can target any EC in play (even yours) so long as they aren't protected from it.
Title: Re: Targeting cards outside of combat
Post by: SwiftxRedemption on September 13, 2015, 10:44:38 PM
Yes.  AoTL can target any EC in play (even yours) so long as they aren't protected from it.

So I am assuming CM would work the same way? What about enhancements that read this way without specifying a territory?
Title: Re: Targeting cards outside of combat
Post by: kram1138 on September 14, 2015, 12:47:27 AM
If it doesn't specify a location (battle, territory, set aside, hand, deck, discard pile), most abilities (if not all) default to play. That means, with discard for example, if it doesn't say where, you can discard any of that card in play, which includes battle and territory.
Title: Re: Targeting cards outside of combat
Post by: SwiftxRedemption on September 14, 2015, 09:07:43 AM
If it doesn't specify a location (battle, territory, set aside, hand, deck, discard pile), most abilities (if not all) default to play. That means, with discard for example, if it doesn't say where, you can discard any of that card in play, which includes battle and territory.

Oh wow. I have certainly been playing that wrong. Thanks for the clarifications.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal