Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DaClock on January 22, 2009, 03:29:47 PM

Title: Table of Showbread
Post by: DaClock on January 22, 2009, 03:29:47 PM
I put Warrior's Spear on Table of Showbread. Rescue with Phinehas, son of Eleazar. Blocked by Prince of this World. My initiative, play Warrior's Spear from Table of Showbread. Can Phinehas retrain WS after battle?

Table of Showbread
Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: On activation, place a good O.T. Enhancement from hand on this card. Your Priest may use that Enhancement as if played from hand, regardless of brigade. If this card is deactivated, return contents to hand.

Phinehas, son of Eleazar
Hero Char. • Brigade: Teal • Ability: 12 / 8 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: Protect this Hero from capture and conversion. Protect Heroes in your territory and set-aside area from discard abilities.

Warrior's Spear
Hero Enh. • Brigade: Red • Ability: 3 / 2 • Class: Weapon • Special Ability: Discard the top card of opponent's deck. If it is a Lost Soul, put it in play instead and discard this card after battle.

Prince of this World
Evil Char. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: 10 / 12 • Class: None • Special Ability: Character is immune to lone Heroes. Only a rescue attempt of 2 or more Heroes can be successful.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: YourMathTeacher on January 22, 2009, 03:45:22 PM
They would both discarded, wouldn't they?
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: DaClock on January 22, 2009, 03:47:00 PM
I'm glad that the math teacher caught my error. Assume that Phinehas wins the battle, or it ends in stalemate, or somehow they live.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: YourMathTeacher on January 22, 2009, 03:50:30 PM
and here I thought it was a trick question...

The SA of Table would end after your turn, so I would think the next time you entered battle, the enhancement would not activate due to brigade mismatch. The main reason I think that is because Table doesn't say "while it remains in play" or something to that effect.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: DaClock on January 22, 2009, 03:54:36 PM
Well, it does say "your priest may use that enhancement as if played from hand, regardless of brigade color." If I played a teal weapon class on Phinehas, he could retain it after battle.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: YourMathTeacher on January 22, 2009, 04:02:55 PM
Well, it does say "your priest may use that enhancement as if played from hand, regardless of brigade color." If I played a teal weapon class on Phinehas, he could retain it after battle.

I agree that he could retain it after battle, but the SA you quoted would end after that turn. The next turn that you bring Phinehas into battle, the enhancement would not activate and would have to be discarded (unless there was a red brigade hero already in battle that could use it).
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: DaClock on January 22, 2009, 04:18:22 PM
Ahh, ok. So because the artifact is no longer active that enhancement no longer works in battle. Gotcha.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: STAMP on January 22, 2009, 05:03:47 PM
He would not be able to retain it.  ToS only allows for the playing of the enhancement.  There is nothing active with ToS's SA during battle resolution when you determine which weapon a warrior-class hero will retain.  As such, a teal warrior-class hero cannot retain a red weapon-class enhancement a that point.


Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: YourMathTeacher on January 22, 2009, 05:09:47 PM
Actually, Table says "use" not "play." IMO, Phinehas is still using the enhancement if he keeps it after battle.

However, I'm not sure what advantage there is either way, other than the red brigade hero in battle scenario I described earlier. I'm not even sure if that would work.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: STAMP on January 22, 2009, 05:12:44 PM
It also contains the phrase "as if played from hand".


Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: YourMathTeacher on January 22, 2009, 05:16:08 PM
Right. But my point is that if I play a WC teal enhancement from hand, I can use it in battle and retain it after battle. I don't see any difference here, although I may be entirely incorrect.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: STAMP on January 22, 2009, 05:17:50 PM
True.  But the ability to retain after battle is governed by the rules of warrior-class and weapon-class.  And ToS's SA says nothing to override that part.


Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: YourMathTeacher on January 22, 2009, 05:19:06 PM
I would argue that the "regardless of brigade" part does override that part.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: BubbleBoy on January 22, 2009, 06:10:20 PM
I am too lazy at the moment to read everyone else's posts :P but I would say that Phineas could use Warriors Spear only as an enhancement for that turn, and it would go back with him to his territory, but then it would be discarded at the end of the turn, since he can't use it anymore....Sorry if that has already been said and/or disproved.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Isildur on January 22, 2009, 08:27:34 PM
Right. But my point is that if I play a WC teal enhancement from hand, I can use it in battle and retain it after battle. I don't see any difference here, although I may be entirely incorrect.
I have to say MathTeacher has is right but then again
Quote
I may be entirely incorrect
.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: disciple_drew on May 03, 2010, 03:18:51 PM
Table of Showbread
Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: On activation, place a good O.T. Enhancement from hand on this card. Your Priest may use that Enhancement as if played from hand, regardless of brigade. If this card is deactivated, return contents to hand.

Since people are saying the cards would be discarded, what do you do with the end of the special ability? "If this card is deactivated, return contents to hand."

So does that mean following your next turn when the owner deactivates the artifact could they return that enhancement back from the discard pile to hand?
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 03, 2010, 03:20:25 PM
HUGE Necropost!
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Professoralstad on May 03, 2010, 04:43:30 PM
HUGE Necropost!

Actually, this is an example of a good "necropost". Bringing this up to ask a new question is better than starting a new thread about it.

Since people are saying the cards would be discarded, what do you do with the end of the special ability? "If this card is deactivated, return contents to hand."

So does that mean following your next turn when the owner deactivates the artifact could they return that enhancement back from the discard pile to hand?

Table of Showbread can only return an enhancement that is currently on it. Once you take the enhancement off of Table, it is no longer part of Table's contents. So if you use the enhancement, you won't get it back by deactivating Table.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: disciple_drew on May 03, 2010, 05:46:17 PM
Thank you.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal