Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Noah on April 24, 2013, 10:37:22 PM

Title: Table of Showbread
Post by: Noah on April 24, 2013, 10:37:22 PM
Does "On activation" mean every turn, or just the first time you activate it?


Table of Showbread

On activation, place a good O.T. Enhancement from hand on this card. Your Priest may use that Enhancement as if played from hand, regardless of brigade. If this card is deactivated, return contents to hand.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Mageduckey on April 24, 2013, 10:42:02 PM
If you leave an artifact face up, it counts as reactivating it.  So if you leave Table up, you have to place an OT enhancement on it (since it doesn't say "may").
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: TheJaylor on April 24, 2013, 11:25:14 PM
Does that mean you can place more than one enhancement there if you have it active for consecutive turns?
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 24, 2013, 11:31:18 PM
if you leave it active for a consecutive turn, it is the same as deactivating it then activating it, so no.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: TheJaylor on April 25, 2013, 07:47:38 AM
if you leave it active for a consecutive turn, it is the same as deactivating it then activating it, so no.
I thought not but the way Mageduckey said it it sounded like you place an enhancement there every turn but I guess I just misunderstood. Thanks!
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on April 25, 2013, 08:51:17 AM
so you dont have to turn an artifact face-down to deactivate it? when exactly does an artifact deactivate if you dont turn it face-down during your turn?
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: browarod on April 25, 2013, 09:09:55 AM
I believe it works like this: If you have not deactivated an artifact by the time your Preparation Phase is ending, it will automatically re-activate (which is essentially deactivating/activating simultaneously) so any non-optional abilities must take place before switching to the Battle Phase.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Master KChief on April 25, 2013, 09:42:18 AM
In the event a good O.T. enhancement cannot be placed on it, does the opponent have to verify by revealing hand?
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: asrgimli on April 25, 2013, 09:54:43 AM
Also, in the event that you have drawn up to 16 cards before doing anything with the artifact pile, does the enhancement on the artifact then need to be discarded since it was supposed to be returned to hand before the activation could hapen again?
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: browarod on April 25, 2013, 10:19:08 AM
In the event a good O.T. enhancement cannot be placed on it, does the opponent have to verify by revealing hand?
Based on similar rulings, I would assume yes.

Also, in the event that you have drawn up to 16 cards before doing anything with the artifact pile, does the enhancement on the artifact then need to be discarded since it was supposed to be returned to hand before the activation could hapen again?
Based on a recent thread regarding Goliath's return ability and the hand limit, I think it would be discarded.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Mageduckey on April 25, 2013, 01:51:31 PM
KoalaKing, I apologize if my answer was misleading.  In saying it automatically reactivated I meant that it had to be deactivated first (i.e. you can't start running a second time if you haven't stopped running the first time).

And FWIW, I agree with browarod on both of those based on the similar rulings/recent thread he mentioned.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 25, 2013, 02:11:19 PM
I agree with browarod
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Redoubter on April 25, 2013, 06:50:23 PM
Also, in the event that you have drawn up to 16 cards before doing anything with the artifact pile, does the enhancement on the artifact then need to be discarded since it was supposed to be returned to hand before the activation could hapen again?
Based on a recent thread regarding Goliath's return ability and the hand limit, I think it would be discarded.

I may have read that thread differently, but my impression was that it would NOT be discarded, but rather it just couldn't be added to hand.  Not sure where it goes then, but did not see a direct answer that would apply here.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: ChristianSoldier on April 25, 2013, 07:06:45 PM
An enhancement would be discarded, the reasoning being that the enhancement attempts to return to hand, but can't, and since it can't go anywhere else (the artifact is no longer active) and it can't exist independently from the artifact so it gets discarded.

In the case of deactivate and reactivate I would assume the deactivate has to complete first (so the card attempts to return to hand, but since it can't it gets discarded) then it reactivates letting you put a new enhancement on it.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Josh on April 26, 2013, 10:14:17 AM
I may have read that thread differently, but my impression was that it would NOT be discarded, but rather it just couldn't be added to hand.  Not sure where it goes then, but did not see a direct answer that would apply here.

Gabe said that, with reference to the hand limit, if Ahimelek cannot return, then nothing happens.  There is no rule about discarding a card if you cannot add it to hand due to the 16-card limit.

However, Table of Showbread is deactivating once per turn.  And if it deactivates, and cannot return the enhancement to hand, it makes sense that at that time the enhancement would be discarded.  And Gabe did say in that other thread that if Ahimelek was returned and made a player's hand go to 16, that Foreign Sword placed on Ahimelek would be discarded, because it has nowhere to go.
Title: Re: Table of Showbread
Post by: Redoubter on April 26, 2013, 08:22:17 PM
I may have read that thread differently, but my impression was that it would NOT be discarded, but rather it just couldn't be added to hand.  Not sure where it goes then, but did not see a direct answer that would apply here.

Gabe said that, with reference to the hand limit, if Ahimelek cannot return, then nothing happens.  There is no rule about discarding a card if you cannot add it to hand due to the 16-card limit.

However, Table of Showbread is deactivating once per turn.  And if it deactivates, and cannot return the enhancement to hand, it makes sense that at that time the enhancement would be discarded.  And Gabe did say in that other thread that if Ahimelek was returned and made a player's hand go to 16, that Foreign Sword placed on Ahimelek would be discarded, because it has nowhere to go.

Good points.  I disagree with the ruling in general, but based on how we have received it, what you said does sound correct :)
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal