Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on March 08, 2018, 10:24:44 AM

Title: Suspending the whole ability causing SI
Post by: Josh on March 08, 2018, 10:24:44 AM
Scenario:  I attack with a hero, opponent blocks with Outsiders (Black/Gold).  I have two good brigades in play and more cards in play, so my opponent decides to Draw 1 and underdeck my hero. 

SI triggers.  Does my opponent have to put back the card they drew (even before I play anything in SI) since Outsiders' whole ability gets "suspended" in SI?

Next question...  Via SI, I play Counsel of Abigail, targeting Outsiders.  Now my opponent gets SI.  CoA's whole ability gets suspended.  Except, whoops, that means CoA's "Interrupt the battle" ability gets suspended too, so now Outsiders' original underdeck ability is working again.  So what happens?
Title: Re: Suspending the whole ability causing SI
Post by: Ironisaac on March 08, 2018, 10:47:28 AM
I think the issue here is that "suspend" has no definition anywhere in the REG. It could be interpreted as you have, essentially negating only one card's ability while the SI is resolving, or it could be interpreted to mean that it stops an ability from acting further.

If it is interpreted as the latter, there would be no issues with the interaction above. Outsiders draws and under decks, SI activates which stops his ability from further acting, so he still keeps the card. Then, Abigail interrupts and under decks, giving outsiders SI. This "suspends" the CoA from finishing until SI is resolves, and i would argue that Outsider's ability wouldn't be removing abigail again because in SI, you must negate the card removing you, and no other abilities can activate during that time.

I may be wrong, and I don't totally understand the finer details of how SI works, so if any one else would like to give input, that would be great.   
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal