Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: jtay on March 15, 2009, 02:50:32 AM

Title: Successful rescue attempts
Post by: jtay on March 15, 2009, 02:50:32 AM
Okay, first here is the definition of "rescue" from the online REG:

This action frees a Lost Soul being held prisoner in the Land of Bondage. A Lost Soul becomes rescued when it is placed in the Land of Redemption. All rescued Lost Souls are taken to the Land of Redemption.

If I make a rescue attempt and win the battle, and my opponent adds a counter to his 2-liner lost soul, does that count as a successful rescue attempt?  I'm feeling a strong "no" on this one, since the lost soul is still in his land of bondage and not in a land of redemption.
Title: Re: Successful rescue attempts
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 15, 2009, 07:21:40 AM
If I make a rescue attempt and win the battle, and my opponent adds a counter to his 2-liner lost soul, does that count as a successful rescue attempt? 

The 2/3-line Lost Souls card is an exception to most regular Lost Soul rules, so it should be treated as such for these kinds of rulings. The counter placed on the LS signifies the successful Rescue Attempt.
Title: Re: Successful rescue attempts
Post by: The Schaef on March 15, 2009, 07:34:11 AM
If I make a rescue attempt and win the battle, and my opponent adds a counter to his 2-liner lost soul, does that count as a successful rescue attempt?

The card says "Must be rescued twice to count".  In order to be rescued twice, it first has to be rescued once, right?
Title: Re: Successful rescue attempts
Post by: Arch Angel on March 15, 2009, 12:04:13 PM
It must be rescued twice to give you any sort of redeemed lost soul. But, winning the rescue attempt that caused the Lost Souls to get a counter is what matters as far as being a successful rescue attempt, I thoughy.
Title: Re: Successful rescue attempts
Post by: The Schaef on March 15, 2009, 10:11:50 PM
Right.  If you win the rescue attempt, you have rescued it once, and get a counter.  If you rescue it a second time, it goes to Land of Redemption as a Redeemed Soul and counts for two points.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal