Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: crustpope on March 21, 2009, 09:44:57 AM
-
When can you put people into stronghold? Can I put people in and out of it whenever I want?
Does it work for my opponenet?
Stronghold in the Desert - Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from opponents' cards. While occupied, each time an opponent plays an Evil Character of a brigade he does not already have in play, discard the top card of his deck.
-
You forgot to post the identifier, which is kind of important.
-
According to the Redemption Rulebook:
Fortresses
You may place any number of fortresses on the table as described on the fortress. You may add or remove cards in a fortress as described on the fortress. You may only hold your own cards in a fortress unless a card states otherwise. A fortress may not be used to gain access to an opponent’s sites.
-
If none is given, you can switch them in and out during Prep Phase.
-
So, in short, the answer to your questions (as answered by the others) are:
When can you put people into stronghold? Can I put people in and out of it whenever I want?
No. You can only put warrior-class human heroes into (or take them out of) Stronghold during your Preparation Phase.
Does it work for my opponenet?
Your opponent can not put cards into your fortress, only their own.
-
Does it work for my opponenet?
Your opponent can not put cards into your fortress, only their own.
Umm you are missing the point. I brought this up during TGT discussion. THe SA on the card says nothing about whether my opponent can or cannot use the SA. If the fort is occupied by my warrior class hero, what is to keep mu opponent from d/c the top card of my deck when I put out an EC from a brigade I dont already have?
You forgot to post the identifier, which is kind of important.
What are you talking about? I Postedc all the info. did I leave somethign out?
-
If none is given, you can switch them in and out during Prep Phase.
SO it is meant to be like a goshen for WC heroes with the extra d/c SA?
-
You forgot to post the identifier, which is kind of important.
What are you talking about? I Postedc all the info. did I leave somethign out?
Srtonghold in the desert:
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from opponents' cards. While occupied, each time an opponent plays an Evil Character of a brigade he does not already have in play, discard the top card of his deck. • Attributes: Holds any number of OT warrior class human Heroes
That part is kind of essential.
-
the phrase "an opponent" would be read from the holder's perspective, so no, your opponent cannot DC from your deck with the SitD in your territory.
-
Right. If the word "you/your" appears on a card in an opponent's territory, it is not talking to you. Mind your own business. :)
If the card in an opponnent's territory mentions the name of another card, and does not specify a player, then it applies to all copies of that card.
I think the only card that is wonky on this point is Thirty Pieces of Silver, which should have had the word "opponent's" inserted before the word "hero."
-
The Garden Tomb Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: If opponent has a redeemed Lost Soul, then Salome, Mary Magdalene, Joanna, Peter, John, and Mary the mother of James ignore all evil brigades that do not have at least two Characters in play. • Attributes: Empty! • Identifiers: NT, Empty! • Verse: Mark 16:1 • Availability: Rock of Ages (Set 19)
Stronghold in the desert:
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from opponents' cards. While occupied, each time an opponent plays an Evil Character of a brigade he does not already have in play, discard the top card of his deck. • Attributes: Holds any number of OT warrior class human Heroes
Here they both are. We have already ruled that my opponent can use TGT to gain access to my LS. So why is opponent so special on SitD and not on TGT? If my Opponent can use my TGT to gain acces to my LS why can't my opponent use SitD to discard the top card of my deck if the conditions are met?
I dont care either way guys, I just want consistency so that I can rule these situations correctly in Tournaments. It seems to me that the first part of the SA deals with Opponents but the second part of the SA can be read independantly and for TGT it was read and interpreted independantly so shouldm't the same apply here?
-
TGT has 1 ability. "If (X) is met, (Y) does (Z)"
To find out what X is, you read the ability. TGT is only in 1 player's territory, so if that player's battle opponent has at least one lost soul, the qualification is met. Y applies to any cards mentioned, whether it be specific heroes, holder's heroes, monkey's wearing blue hates, it doesn't matter; if X is met, Y is targetted. Z is whatever ability it gives (in this case ignore); Z is given to any card that meets Y.
SitD has 2 abilities. "Protect (A) from (B)." and "If (C) is met and (D) does (E) do (f)."
All cards in SitD are protected from the holder's opponents' cards. Opponents' means everyone but the holder.
The second ability is similar to TGT, but the targets are vastly different. If there's a hero in SitD, then C is met. As long as C is met, if the holder's opponent (D) plays an EC of a brigade he doesn't have in play (E) then you DC the top card of their deck.
Opponent is *ALWAYS* read from the holder's perspective. The target of the cards is what matters. Since you are not your own opponent, your own SitD cannot DC from your deck. Likewise if you have a lost soul, but the player attacking you doesn't, TGT does nothing.
-
Archangel is correct.
Crustpope, TGT gives nothing to the opponent. It gives an ability to 6 named heroes - no matter whose they are.
SitD discards the top card of the deck when your opponent does something.
Notice that the word "opponent" ALWAYS refers to a player OTHER THAN the holder of the card.
-
Opponent is *ALWAYS* read from the holder's perspective. The target of the cards is what matters. Since you are not your own opponent, your own SitD cannot DC from your deck. Likewise if you have a lost soul, but the player attacking you doesn't, TGT does nothing.
OK I will buy all of that. But one last Q on TGT. If I have one of the heroes mentioned on TGT, say Salome, I have a redemed LS and my Opponent has TGT up it still works right? because if the first part is read from their perspective, then since his/her opponent (me) has redeemed LS, my heroes get to ignore his/her EC's as long as the meet the requirements. Correct?
-
Yes. That is correct.
-
Yes. That is correct.
Man, that stinks for them lol. Well that means I am just going to splash a gew TGT charachters in my decks from Now on.
-
There really is no harm in it, especially if you are using one of those brigades. If gives you an N.T. */4 hero. Possible female, too, depending on the brigade. Female heroes are very important to the health of your OT males.