Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on April 21, 2010, 10:16:17 AM
-
How can you put something in there? Do you just do it or have to have a card that puts them in there? I was just wondering...
-
You know, should this card be ruled the same way as Goshen?
-
you mean the take characters in and out to your hearts content(as long as the card has no instructions regarding character movement on it) during prep phase ruling? ::)
-
you mean the take characters in and out to your hearts content(as long as the card has no instructions regarding character movement on it) during prep phase ruling? ::)
I believe the ruling is if a Fortress specifies how characters are placed in the Fortress and how they are released from the Fortress, then you can only take them out by the method on the Fortress, or by interrupting the Fortress's ability and taking them out. Which is why Goshen doesn't work quite as expected. But since Stronghold has no SA saying how to place or remove heroes from it, but just has a hold abilifier, then you can put heroes in and take heroes out just as you can Judge's Seat.
-
I brought this up the last time we had this discussion but... what about Potters Field then?
Set this site aside. Holder's Heroes to be discarded are instead placed in this site, Treat them as discarded Heroes.
It only says how to put cards onto it, not how to take them out. Can I just remove them at will in my prep phase?
-
It only says how to put cards onto it, not how to take them out. Can I just remove them at will in my prep phase?
Yes! Someone please say yes!
-
Yes* -
However if I recall properly from last time, the reason you cannot remove them is because they're not heroes, they're discarded heroes, so all you could do is move them to the discard pile.
*I'm not cool, and have no actual ruling authority.
-
Yes* -
However if I recall properly from last time, the reason you cannot remove them is because they're not heroes, they're discarded heroes, so all you could do is move them to the discard pile.
*I'm not cool, and have no actual ruling authority.
Actually, there was a relatively recent thread where Bryon (I think?) said that there was no distinction between heroes and discarded heroes. So now I'm a tad confused.
-
you mean the take characters in and out to your hearts content(as long as the card has no instructions regarding character movement on it) during prep phase ruling? ::)
since Stronghold has no SA saying how to place or remove heroes from it, but just has a hold abilifier, then you can put heroes in and take heroes out just as you can Judge's Seat.
You can take out heroes from judges seat too? IDK that...
-
You can take out heroes from judges seat too? IDK that...
neither did i but thats good to know
-
While we're at it, can cards like Children take heroes out of fortresses that are not protected, like House in Bethany?
Children
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: All Gold Brigade Heroes in Holder's territory must join the battle. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Matthew 19:14 • Availability: Women booster packs (Uncommon)
House in Bethany
Type: Fortress • Brigade: Multicolor • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from evil cards. If opponent's demon blocks your Luke or John Hero, reveal the top seven cards of opponent's deck. You may discard one revealed evil card or put a revealed Lost Soul in play. • Attributes: Holds up to three Heroes with a Luke or John reference • Identifiers: Holds up to three Heroes with a Luke or John reference • Verse: John 12:1 • Availability: Rock of Ages (Set 12)
-
Yes sir.
-
The same works for Judges seat. Thats a great way to disrupt them for a turn.... just band to their judge.
-
So Stronghold in the desert you can take out and put in each preperation phase and have the ability go through then?
-
Soooo, any word on the fortress ruling from a playtester/official? I realize it doesnt impact a TON of forts, but it could make or break a few cards such as Goshen and Potters Field.
-
I realize it doesnt impact a TON of forts, but it could make or break a few cards such as Goshen and Potters Field.
What about City of Refuge?
-
"Such as" implied there were more that I didn't feel like finding at the time. ;)