Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on August 23, 2017, 08:21:07 AM

Title: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on August 23, 2017, 08:21:07 AM
Does this card protect Abom you play in opponents territory?  Does the "your" apply to both the characters and enhancements?

ability: Protect your unique Greek Evil Characters and black Enhancements in territories from discard.
Title: Re: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: Watchman on August 23, 2017, 08:42:38 AM
Yes. That was one of the main reasons for his ability, to protect AoD.
Title: Re: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on August 23, 2017, 08:45:46 AM
that's what I though, but with how other cards have been ruled I didn't know if the " your" would apply to the enhancement placed into opponents territory, which would not be "yours" since you don't have control of it
Title: Re: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: Watchman on August 23, 2017, 08:49:07 AM
You still retain control of it even if it's in his territory. He never used an ability to take control of your card. All you did was place it in a different location than normal, which was in your opponent's territory.
Title: Re: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: The Guardian on August 23, 2017, 08:54:46 AM
+1
Title: Re: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: TheJaylor on August 27, 2017, 01:11:02 PM
Does the "your" for sure apply to both targets (unique Greeks and black enhancements)? Because it seems like it could also be read to only protect your Greeks but all black enhancements in territories, such as an opponent's Abom or black weapon.
Title: Re: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: Kevinthedude on August 27, 2017, 01:26:17 PM
Does the "your" for sure apply to both targets (unique Greeks and black enhancements)? Because it seems like it could also be read to only protect your Greeks but all black enhancements in territories, such as an opponent's Abom or black weapon.

In territories applies to unique Greek ECs so I don't see why your wouldn't apply to the enhancements. "Protect your (unique greek ECs and black Enhancements) in territories from discard."
Title: Re: Stoic Philosophers
Post by: TheJaylor on August 27, 2017, 01:35:14 PM
Does the "your" for sure apply to both targets (unique Greeks and black enhancements)? Because it seems like it could also be read to only protect your Greeks but all black enhancements in territories, such as an opponent's Abom or black weapon.

In territories applies to unique Greek ECs so I don't see why your wouldn't apply to the enhancements. "Protect your (unique greek ECs and black Enhancements) in territories from discard."
Good point. I guess I only paid close enough attention to the first part of the ability. Carry on.  :P
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal