Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: stefferweffer on December 07, 2009, 03:56:05 PM
-
This came up yesterday. I was going to use mine at the start of my turn, but my opponent thought that their Wall of Protection would stop that. Since it was not bringing them into battle, but simply exchanging heroes with him for a couple turns, I didn't think Wall would stop it. Please advise. Thanks.
-
Wall does not stop Stalks, for the reason you described.
-
I agree. Stalks of Flax works in this siutation because it is not bringing 2 heroes from his territory into battle, but into your territory. Therefore, once you posess these heroes they are no longer in his territory and may enter battle after they have been placed in your territory.
-
This came up yesterday. I was going to use mine at the start of my turn, but my opponent thought that their Wall of Protection would stop that. Since it was not bringing them into battle, but simply exchanging heroes with him for a couple turns, I didn't think Wall would stop it. Please advise. Thanks.
Thanks for posting that
-
Some Wall of Protection eh?
-
We need an updated form of wop in the form of a new promo
-
"Protect your characters from being
brought into battle removed from your territory by an opponent."
-
"Protect your characters from being brought into battle removed from your territory by an opponent."
Um...that would be overpowered considering it would stop capturing (except for the ones that capture to opponent's LoB), discarding, removing from the game, and banding any character in territory.
It would become the staple protection fortress that isn't even dependent on any specific strategy.
-
That already describes Wall of Protection. ::) (I was just kidding by the way.)
-
Um...that would be overpowered considering it would stop capturing (except for the ones that capture to opponent's LoB), discarding, removing from the game, and banding any character in territory.
It would become the staple protection fortress that isn't even dependent on any specific strategy.
Overpowered...lol. Obviously you didn't think before you typed that one. Stopping your characters from being captured in territory, there are so many cards that do that already. As for removing cards from your territory, I can not really think of cards that are USED that would make this actually matter. As for banding, that is what WoP is supposed to stop...So the only thing left is protecting your characters from discard in your territory. Strong yes, overpowered...?not even close.
And one last thing, it's not like fortresses are hard to get rid of anymore.
-
As for removing cards from your territory, I can not really think of cards that are USED that would make this actually matter.
Plague of Frogs
Two Bears,
Two Possessed by Demons
"He Is Risen"
Haman
:
-
Plague of Frogs
Two Bears,
Two Possessed by Demons
"He Is Risen"
Haman
Let me fix this for you.
Two Bears, "He Is Risen", and Haman.
Of those 3, 2 still work as a battle winner. Haman would hurt, but brown just got Image of Jealousy...
-
Plague of Frogs
Two Bears,
Two Possessed by Demons
"He Is Risen"
Haman
Let me fix this for you.
Two Bears, "He Is Risen", and Haman.
Of those 3, 2 still work as a battle winner. Haman would hurt, but brown just got Image of Jealousy...
I'm not sure I understand your "fix."
While Plague of Frogs is primarily a battle winner, I have seen it + Hidden Treasures used semi-regularly to shuffle in a particularly nasty defender pre-block, the same with Two Bears.
Every demon defense I have seen uses Two Possessed by Demons, so I'm not sure why that is out.
"He Is Risen" is more often than not used in conjunction with Garden Tomb offenses which quite appreciate the ability the set aside ECs that are sitting in territory.
Lastly, I am not so cavalier about discounting batch mode captures of Heroes in territory.
-
As a follow up, would Covenant of Josiah stop this? Don't have the card with me, but I think it protects them from "harm or negative effect". Is being swapped with the opponents' heroes "harm or negative effect"?
-
I don't believe anything can stop Stalks except Goshen.
-
As a follow up, would Covenant of Josiah stop this? Don't have the card with me, but I think it protects them from "harm or negative effect". Is being swapped with the opponents' heroes "harm or negative effect"?
Negative effect is anything done by any card of an alignment different than the one effected. Since heroes are good and Stalks of Flax is neutral--anything protecting from negative effect will protect against SoF.
-
Now I'm confused, and it seems I've received two different answers regarding Cov with Josiah verses Stalks of Flax. I thought it was protection from the OPPOSITE alignment, but not "neutral". And who says Stalks is "neutral" anyway? Is every artifact given an alignment? I generally use it very defensively to stop a certain hero (like Strong Angel for example) from messing me up.
Please advise. Thanks again.
-
All artifacts are neutral. The definition of harm/negative effect is anything done by a card not of the same alignment. Good isn't neutral, so Cov of Josiah stops Cut Me Some Flax.
-
+1 with TimMierz.
-
Oh really? Hm, I guess after a while you just assume things...