Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Gabe on April 26, 2011, 02:08:39 AM

Title: Stalks of Flax and Protection
Post by: Gabe on April 26, 2011, 02:08:39 AM
My opponent gives me two of their Heroes with Stalks of Flax.  I place those Heroes in Goshen to protect them from effect.  What happens to them when the two turns for Stalks is up?

Goshen (P)
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect contents from all effects. If your Genesis or Exodus Hero has toughness */0 or less, you may place it here instead of discarding it. • Play As: Protect contents from harm or effect. Place or return Heroes during your Preparation Phase. If your Genesis Hero or Exodus Hero has toughness */0 or less, you may place it here instead of discarding it. Goshen may hold any number of Heroes of up to three brigades.

Stalks of Flax (TP)
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: On activation, discard this card to exchange two O.T. human Heroes in your territory with two Heroes in an opponent's territory for two turns.
Title: Re: Stalks of Flax and Protection
Post by: Alex_Olijar on April 26, 2011, 02:17:44 AM
Whatever would happen if any hero in the exchange is discard (I can't remember what that is).
Title: Re: Stalks of Flax and Protection
Post by: Gabe on April 26, 2011, 02:33:48 AM
Whatever would happen if any hero in the exchange is discard (I can't remember what that is).

I've had that ruled that you return all the Heroes you can and the discarded Heroes remain discarded.  That makes sense to me, I only asked because I was hoping to get my Hero back at the time. :)
Title: Re: Stalks of Flax and Protection
Post by: Minister Polarius on April 26, 2011, 03:06:46 AM
Stalks is just an extremely messy card in the first place. I'd rule that an exchange with a duration expiring is not a harm or effect, but a game rule (when the duration of an exchange ends, any exchanged cards still in play return). Again for trepidation about casting a big net for what an "effect" is.
Title: Re: Stalks of Flax and Protection
Post by: RTSmaniac on April 26, 2011, 09:37:08 AM
I would like to say that the hero's "trapped" in Goshen never return, alas it is not ruled as such for some odd reason as Polarius has stated doesnt include effect which seems odd to me. We've come to a definition of Harm for game sake purposes. Maybe it's time to take alook at what exactly Effect means...

I asked this question before and never got an official answer-
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=22801.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=22801.0)

SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal