Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Praeceps on September 24, 2015, 10:32:05 PM

Title: Spy
Post by: Praeceps on September 24, 2015, 10:32:05 PM
Spy - Holder may look at one opponent's hand or cards face down in a site. Hero may then withdraw from battle unharmed or continue the battle.

If The attacker does not look at the defender's cards, can spy still withdraw? Question arises because of the wording of "Hero may then withdraw..."
Title: Re: Spy
Post by: wyatt_marcum on September 24, 2015, 10:59:27 PM
I am pretty Sure you can, although it kinda defeats the purpose of the card....... unless you have warrior's spear, anyways.
Title: Re: Spy
Post by: Redoubter on September 25, 2015, 04:44:08 PM
It does matter for Retribution + Warrior's Spear.

They are two separate abilities, meant to be read in order as per the normal order of operations with special abilities.  That there is a "then" just denotes that it happens afterwards in this case, to my knowledge; not sure that they are actually linked or cost-benefit.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal