Cactus Game Design Message Boards

RedemptionĀ® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: CJSports on October 24, 2011, 05:06:29 PM

Title: Special Initiative question....
Post by: CJSports on October 24, 2011, 05:06:29 PM
If an opponent's blocks with King Mannaseh against your TGT band of 3 characters. He plays confusion and goes and pitches your SoG. Then he rips a plot on you. Do you still have special initiative to negate confusion with blessings?
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: Red Wing on October 24, 2011, 05:11:06 PM
If an opponent's blocks with King Mannaseh against your TGT band of 3 characters. He plays confusion and goes and pitches your SoG. Then he rips a plot on you. Do you still have special initiative to negate confusion with blessings?

I'd say yes.


Initiative

A player with initiative may play the next enhancement. Initiative is always given to the player who is losing the current batĀ­tle. The losing player cannot pass initiative.
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: browarod on October 24, 2011, 05:12:58 PM
If he uses Plot to discard all 3 of your heroes in battle, you do not get initiative to negate Confusion because Plot is an instant CBN ability. Playing Blessings would be trying to interrupt a CBN ability which cannot happen. Plot activates and resolves and at that point you no longer have heroes in battle to play anything on.
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: lp670sv on October 24, 2011, 05:30:40 PM
you cant interrupt Plots ability so all three of your heros are discarded before the initiative would pass
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 24, 2011, 05:51:06 PM
Better question: how did Manasseh get into battle against TGT?
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: CJSports on October 24, 2011, 06:09:50 PM
Lolz, I figured that was the answer and to pol we'll make it sam to armorbearer to ishmaiah to make you happy. To everyone else I don't see why attempting to negate plot is wrong. I don't think there is rule about not trying to do something that doesn't work and in the meantime stop something else. I get the logic behind what you said but I feel like that since your dieing just because something says CBN doesn't mean you can't try to negate it. Just logical thinking.
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: TheHobbit13 on October 24, 2011, 06:53:20 PM
That would create a lot of problems though. People could  play PCH+Wrath after an opponent played Aocp or something. Essentially any battle winner off an interrupt play next would circumnavigate a CBN battle winner. I think of it like this if something cannot be negated it essentially nullifies all other negates (no negate can actually serve its purpose against hp) that you would have normally played otherwise, thus, in this scenario, blessing is not a negate. So then, if you can only play negates when you are losing the battle, and blessings is not a negate, you cannot play blessings when you are losing the battle. That help?
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: browarod on October 24, 2011, 09:41:40 PM
The thing with CBN and CBI is that nothing can stop them after they're played. A CBN/CBI ability is immediately and completely carried out once activated and nothing else can be used until after the CBN/CBI ability finishes. In the case of Plot vs 3 heroes by the time the CBN discard of Plot finishes there are no heroes left in battle to play any enhancements on so you cannot negate things played previously even if they themselves aren't CBN/CBI.
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: lp670sv on October 24, 2011, 11:45:58 PM
Think of it in this extreme example. You see someone plant C4 on a bridge. You do nothing. You then watch them press a button and the bridge blow up. You cannot go back and stop them from planting the C4 at this. point.
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: ChristianSoldier on October 25, 2011, 12:08:09 AM
Actually there is a very simple ruling when you play in interrupt when losing by removal you have to interrupt/negate the card causing the removal, and I'm fairly sure that was already a ruling (or at least I assumed that was the ruling)

Since Blessings cannot interrupt/negate Haman's Plot you can't play it, similar to why I can't play Lying unto God when I'm losing by removal since it doesn't interrupt/negate the removal ability (unless its on an artifact I suppose)
Title: Re: Special Initiative question....
Post by: Prof Underwood on October 25, 2011, 01:37:46 AM
you cant interrupt Plots ability so all three of your heros are discarded before the initiative would pass
+1
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal