Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: SirNobody on November 03, 2013, 06:15:23 PM

Title: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: SirNobody on November 03, 2013, 06:15:23 PM
Hey,

Zebulun attacks.  I have Unholy Writ active.  I choose to use Writ without blocking.  Does that give Zebulun special initiative to use Joseph Before Pharaoh to negate and underdeck Writ even though there is no evil character in battle?

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: Alex_Olijar on November 03, 2013, 07:58:22 PM
Don't see why not
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: Drrek on November 03, 2013, 08:13:58 PM
Quote from: REG
When you are losing the battle by removal, you are granted special initiative to play an
Enhancement that will interrupt or negate the card that is causing your charact’s removal. You are
considered to be losing by removal when an opponent’s special ability, or a game rule that has been
triggered by an opponent’s special ability, would leave you with no character in battle when the
special ability has completed.

You are losing by an ability that is causing your character's removal from battle, so there's no reason why you can't negate Writ.
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: Professoralstad on November 04, 2013, 02:34:03 PM
Based on the most recent rulings on special initiative (i.e. that you can interrupt any ability that is causing you to lose the battle, regardless of where it is) yes, you can use JBP on Zeb to negate Writ.
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: Praeceps on November 04, 2013, 07:56:52 PM
So even though UW discards itself JBP can negate it?
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: jbeers285 on November 04, 2013, 08:03:32 PM
So even though UW discards itself JBP can negate it?

Yes do to special initiative. You could not play DoN once it is discarded bc DoN discards it to negate it.
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: Praeceps on November 04, 2013, 08:13:56 PM
No, that I get. But last I'd heard, you needed a negate last or an ItB to stop something that removed itself.
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: jbeers285 on November 04, 2013, 08:15:13 PM
JbP does that
Title: Re: Special Initiative before a blocker is presented
Post by: Redoubter on November 04, 2013, 08:18:47 PM
No, that I get. But last I'd heard, you needed a negate last or an ItB to stop something that removed itself.

No, you need something that can target the card.  That is what negate last or ITB are normally able to do, but this case is one of those other situations with a different target.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal