Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Watchman on July 26, 2017, 09:04:57 PM
-
Has there been any definitive rule on when souls' abilities activate in a certain order at the start of a game when there's an equal number of souls drawn during the first 8 cards drawn (such as Awake being drawn from my deck and Lawless being drawn from my opponent's deck and which of those go first)? Last I recall the elders were going to discuss this and come back with a ruling. I might have missed that post if they did rule on it.
-
yes, I am curious of this myself. We have run into this situation a few times now.
-
I thought I saw that the guardian posted something about this a while back but I can't seem to find it now.
-
It's part of the tournament guide update that I posted in the tournament section.
If there's a tie for LS drawn you use a random method to break the tie (die roll usually).
-
So just to be clear whoever has the most lost souls gets to choose who's lost souls activate first. (The crowd lost soul is always active) If there's a tie then you use some sort of tie breaker. After all lost Souls have completed then you determine who has the most lost souls and they get to choose who goes first unless it's another tie and in that case we have a tiebreaker again?
-
So just to be clear whoever has the most lost souls gets to choose who's lost souls activate first. (The crowd lost soul is always active) If there's a tie then you use some sort of tie breaker. After all lost Souls have completed then you determine who has the most lost souls and they get to choose who goes first unless it's another tie and in that case we have a tiebreaker again?
All correct except the Crowds LS. That has to activate in turn as well. The thing that we clarified with the Crowds LS is that the opening draw of 8 does not count as drawing more than 4 that "turn" because there is no turn until it's determined who goes first.
So if I draw Crowds and you draw Open Hand, we would roll a dice. If you win the roll, you can choose your soul to activate first and reveal my hand before my Crowds activates. After that, then yes we would roll again to determine who gets to choose who goes first.
-
After doing some digging, Gabe was able to find documentation that verifies what Kevin so humorously pointed out--Crowds LS is always active unless the condition is met, which includes the time when LS abilities are activating at the start of the game before the first turn is determined. :)
That being said, we will work on codifying what exactly the time between the opening draw and the first player beginning their first turn should be considered. It is something we will work on for REG 5.0
Shout out to Kevinthedude for pointing us in the right direction! 8)
So this is wrong then?
-
Ah, apologies for the confusion...what I meant was that after Crowds has activated, it is always active in the sense that it's checking for a condition that would "turn off" the protection. It's not inactive and looking for a condition to "turn it on."