Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: browarod on April 11, 2011, 04:26:05 PM

Title: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: browarod on April 11, 2011, 04:26:05 PM
1. Is Peter's Curse generic due to being an enhancement, or unique due to being an artifact? I.e.: Can you have Peter's Curse on 2 opponent's cards at the same time? Assume I received the second from an opponent's artifact pile with Thievery of Judas.

Peter's Curse
Place on a Hero or good Fortress: Negate that card's special ability. When you play a good Dominant, discard this Curse. Cannot be negated.

1.A. Does Peter's Curse have a brigade if placed while an artifact? (This also relates to question 2.)

2. Cards that you place on an opponent's card/in an opponent's territory, do you "have them in play"?

2.A. My opponent has an orange EC and an evil gold EC in territory, has placed a pale green enhancement on a hero in my territory, and has put Peter's Curse (as an artifact) on my Solomon's Temple. I attempt a rescue with a blue hero (not the hero with the PG placed enhancement). They block with the orange EC. I capture the evil gold EC (with Trapped in Cleverness) and still have initiative. If I play Job Overcomes, how many cards must my opponent discard?

Job Overcomes
For each evil brigade your opponent has in play, that opponent must discard an evil card from hand or battle. You may draw a card.
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: Josh on April 11, 2011, 04:33:50 PM
1. Is Peter's Curse generic due to being an enhancement, or unique due to being an artifact? I.e.: Can you have Peter's Curse on 2 opponent's cards at the same time?

It's one per deck per the deckbuilding rules for multicolor cards.  So no, you can't have two of your own Peter's Curse on opponent's cards at the same time, unless you cheat.
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: browarod on April 11, 2011, 04:44:16 PM
1. Is Peter's Curse generic due to being an enhancement, or unique due to being an artifact? I.e.: Can you have Peter's Curse on 2 opponent's cards at the same time?

It's one per deck per the deckbuilding rules for multicolor cards.  So no, you can't have two of your own Peter's Curse on opponent's cards at the same time, unless you cheat.
Assume I received the second from an opponent's artifact pile with Thievery of Judas.
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: Gabe on April 11, 2011, 06:23:02 PM
1) Just like all Curses/Covenants, Peter's Curse is unique if it's used as an Artifact and generic if it's used as an enhancement.  The reason for this is that all Artifacts are unique and all enhancements are generic.

1A) Yes, Curses/Covenants have brigades, even when used as an Artifact.

2) Yes.
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: browarod on April 11, 2011, 06:35:49 PM
1) Just like all Curses/Covenants, Peter's Curse is unique if it's used as an Artifact and generic if it's used as an enhancement.  The reason for this is that all Artifacts are unique and all enhancements are generic.

1A) Yes, Curses/Covenants have brigades, even when used as an Artifact.

2) Yes.
So if I activate 1 Peter's Curse as an artifact, does that prevent me from activating any others as enhancements?

Can you answer 2.A.?
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: Gabe on April 11, 2011, 06:39:35 PM
2A) How many evil brigades do they have in play?  Placed cards are still owned and controlled by the player that placed them.
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: browarod on April 11, 2011, 06:58:24 PM
By my count, they'd have 3 from placed cards (2 from Peter's Curse and 1 from the PG place card) and 1 from the EC in battle for a total of 4. I assume their EC in my land of bondage doesn't count, is that correct?
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: Gabe on April 11, 2011, 07:10:40 PM
That is my count as well.  Captured characters don't retain a brigade.
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: TheHobbit13 on April 11, 2011, 07:27:43 PM
That is my count as well.  Captured characters don't retain a brigade.

Do they retain culture? Can I use Given over to Egypt off of one capture in my territory.
Title: Re: Some In-depth Questions
Post by: SomeKittens on April 11, 2011, 09:31:32 PM
That is my count as well.  Captured characters don't retain a brigade.

Do they retain culture? Can I use Given over to Egypt off of one capture in my territory.
Yes, they retain their identifiers, so a captured angel that is buried will go to chamber, but won't be returned to deck.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal