Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Josh on June 18, 2013, 07:50:34 PM
-
If my opponent steals my Kidron Valley or Golgotha with Land Dispute, can I get it back with either of these cards?
Jacob's Dream - "Take one Lost Soul site from an opponent and add it to your territory. If site held a Lost Soul, Lost Soul returns to general Land of Bondage. Discard any other cards in that site."
Danites Attack - "Take one Lost Soul site from opponent and place in your territory. If site held a Lost Soul(s), Lost Soul(s) is returned to general Land of Bondage. Discard any other card in that site."
They seem to imply a site my opponent controls, not one he necessarily owns.
-
I think I agree. "Take an opponent's site" (like Land Dispute) wouldn't work, but "take from opponent" seems like it could be read as "take from opponent's territory", or "take from an opponent's control".
I'd wait for other elders to chime in, but I don't think there is precedent either way, so I'm fine with the above.
-
"take from opponent" could mean "take from an opponent's territory" or "take from an opponent's control" or take from an opponent's ownership". The first two would allow you to retrieve your site from an opponent, the third would not.
I think all are possible interpretations, and I don't really care for gameplay reasons, so I'll go with whatever others think is best.
My only leaning is that we interpret "take from deck" to mean "take from your deck" which means that in the absence of clarity we assume ownership. Therefore to be consistent with this situation perhaps we should do the same. But again that is only a slight leaning.
-
seems to me it could be both owner and/or controller.
-
"take from opponent" could mean "take from an opponent's territory" or "take from an opponent's control" or take from an opponent's ownership". The first two would allow you to retrieve your site from an opponent, the third would not.
I think all are possible interpretations, and I don't really care for gameplay reasons, so I'll go with whatever others think is best.
My only leaning is that we interpret "take from deck" to mean "take from your deck" which means that in the absence of clarity we assume ownership. Therefore to be consistent with this situation perhaps we should do the same. But again that is only a slight leaning.
It is already a rule that anytime an ability says "deck", "discard pile", "territory", or "Artifact pile" without specifying whose it is or that it can be anyone's (by saying "a", "any", "one", etc), then it automatically refers to your deck, else The Gates of Hell would be the most broken card in the game... ;)
This situation isn't really analgous, as we know whose territory it is, just not whether or not ownership+control is required when it says "from opponent".