Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Red Warrior on March 20, 2012, 02:54:19 PM

Title: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Red Warrior on March 20, 2012, 02:54:19 PM
In a Type II Game,
My opponent attacks with Gideon and selects the Shuffler LS to rescue.
I block with Archers of Kedar (x3) to Nebushasban with Swift Horses.
I exchange the Shuffler for the NT only.
I then play Escape to return Nebushasban to my hand

Without throwing my bias in, here's the questions...
1) How does Escape affect Nebushasban?
2) How would a Samuel's Edict that targets an Archer affect Nebushasban/Horses/Escape?



Nebushasban (FF)

Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Crimson • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: You may exchange a Lost Soul in opponent’s territory with a Lost Soul in your territory. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, Babylonia, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: Jeremiah 39:13 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

Escape (AW)

Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Crimson • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle and return your Evil Character to your hand. • Play As: Interrupt the battle and withdraw your Evil Character. Place Evil Character in your hand. • Identifiers: OT, Connected with Demons • Verse: I Kings 12:18 • Availability: Angel Wars booster packs (Common)

Samuel's Edict (RA2)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Yellow • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate an evil card. Discard an Evil Character. Cannot be negated if the only Hero in battle is Samuel or a Judge with no special ability. • Identifiers: None • Verse: I Samuel 15:33 • Availability: Rock of Ages Extended booster packs (None)
Title: Re: Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Wings of Music on March 20, 2012, 02:57:53 PM
1) Escape wouldn't affect Nebushasban's ability he would go to hand with the lost soul exchange completed.

2) Once Nebushasban is out of battle with horses + escape played, I think that It wouldn't do anything, but I'm not sure on this one.

EDIT:

500 posts! :D I'm a Sr. Member!
Title: Re: Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Red Warrior on March 20, 2012, 03:29:29 PM
Negates cascade, but... hm...
Title: Re: Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Wings of Music on March 20, 2012, 03:30:32 PM
Yeah, like I said I'm not so sure about the second one.  I'm positive about the first one though.
Title: Re: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: adotson85 on March 20, 2012, 04:14:45 PM
I would say that the other ECs get kicked out of battle, but that all the effects from Nebushasban/Horses/Escape stay since Sam's Edict only negates the card it is targeting.
Title: Re: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Red Warrior on March 20, 2012, 05:32:08 PM
I'm kinda confused on cascading negates... because if Archer #1 was negated, #2 never came, nor #3, nor Nebushasban...

I know if a partially CBN band faces FBTN, only CBN banding sticks (which, understandably, break a normal cascade).
Angel In The Path(Wa)->Elders of Jerusalem#1->Elders#2->Elders#3. If blocked by KoT, only #1 would go away (AitP is negated, EoJ not).
Title: Re: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Redoubter on March 20, 2012, 06:54:17 PM
Yes, if you negated and discarded the first Archer, everything would cascade.

Archer #1 would be negated (including his snipe and ongoing discard, if it were used), and the band negated.  That means that Archer #2 never entered and is undone (along with his snipe and band), Archer #3 is undone (along with his snipe and band), Nebushasban is undone, along with horses and escape.  Cards drawn return to deck, Escape returns to hand, Nebushasban + Horses and Archers #2 and #3 return to territory, Lost Soul swap is undone, Archer #1 is discarded, and the battle is over (as Samuel's Edict is CBN on Gideon).  Unless something else affects the outcome (like Doms), Gideon gets the Soul.

However, if you used Nebushasban's play-next to play a card to defeat Gideon (since you didn't mention AUTO starting the rescue), then Samuel's Edict would have to target that card, as special initiative requires you to negate directly whatever is causing the defeat condition.
Title: Re: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 20, 2012, 08:19:55 PM
Almost. Escape would remain played since play abilities are CBI.
Title: Re: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Redoubter on March 20, 2012, 09:00:10 PM
Almost. Escape would remain played since play abilities are CBI.

Honestly missed that, did not know that to be the rule.  And it is so plainly stated in the REG, just never noticed :)

That means that Nebushasben and Horses would end up in hand at the end of everything, but everything else would be the same.
Title: Re: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: Red Warrior on March 20, 2012, 10:37:53 PM
Almost. Escape would remain played since play abilities are CBI. Glad to know THAT before a major tourny!

I never knew that either! So I'm guessing that since Escape targeted Nebushasban it doesn't get to retarget after he is kicked out of battle? Because if it did retarget, would Archer end up in hand before the "discard an evil character" of Edict kicks in?

Yes, if you negated and discarded the first Archer, everything would cascade.

...However, if you used Nebushasban's play-next to play a card to defeat Gideon (since you didn't mention AUTO starting the rescue), then Samuel's Edict would have to target that card, as special initiative requires you to negate directly whatever is causing the defeat condition.

Thanks for the help! That makes sense :)
Yeah I just picked Gideon as an example so I didn't have to post abilities, lol. This is a "beating around the bush" test case for a Type 2 idea, but I'll leave it at that  8)
Title: Re: [less than] Simple Question: Escape
Post by: SomeKittens on March 21, 2012, 03:06:12 PM
Almost. Escape would remain played since play abilities are CBI. Glad to know THAT before a major tourny!

I never knew that either! So I'm guessing that since Escape targeted Nebushasban it doesn't get to retarget after he is kicked out of battle? Because if it did retarget, would Archer end up in hand before the "discard an evil character" of Edict kicks in?
You are correct.  Cards can't "retarget"
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal