Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Chronic Apathy on May 10, 2011, 10:18:57 PM

Title: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Chronic Apathy on May 10, 2011, 10:18:57 PM
Simon the Zealot is activated, but gets captured and placed in my opponent's Land of Bondage. Does his ability remain active? My opponent said no, and honestly he's probably right, but I have a problem with that ruling. The reasoning behind it not working is the wording "...while this Hero remains in play." The logic is that since a captured hero is no longer considered a hero (and is instead considered to be a captured hero), the ability stops working when Simon stops being a hero.

However, I disagree with this. "...while this Hero remains in play" says, to me, that as long as the card is in play, once activated, that the ability remains active. It doesn't say anything about while he remains a hero, or anything to that effect. I'm not 100% sure how to word my argument, but I think that communicates my misgivings relatively well. Thoughts?

Simon the Zealot (Di)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Red/Purple • Ability: 7 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate and discard Rome and a N.T. Idol. First Strike. Protect your hand and deck from opponents' cards while this Hero remains in play. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Disciple • Verse: Luke 6:13-15 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: RTSmaniac on May 10, 2011, 10:28:04 PM
almost forgot about that one...
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: YourMathTeacher on May 10, 2011, 10:34:59 PM
However, I disagree with this. "...while this Hero remains in play" says, to me, that as long as the card is in play, once activated, that the ability remains active. It doesn't say anything about while he remains a hero, or anything to that effect. I'm not 100% sure how to word my argument, but I think that communicates my misgivings relatively well. Thoughts?

Not that I disagree with your frustrations, however the card does not say "while this card remains in play," which is the stipulation you are suggesting.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Chronic Apathy on May 10, 2011, 10:37:35 PM
True. However, I don't see any reason that it still shouldn't be played that way.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: RTSmaniac on May 10, 2011, 10:40:36 PM
Destructive Sin (TP)
Type: Evil Enh. • Brigade: Orange • Ability: None • Class: Territory • Special Ability: Place on a Hero. While this card remains, negate special abilities on that Hero and its owner's good Fortresses and Covenants. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Ecclesiastes 9:18 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()

I heard this card works even in set aside area...
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: SomeKittens on May 10, 2011, 10:48:22 PM
When captured, he's no longer a hero.  He becomes a captured hero, which is an entirely different thing
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 10, 2011, 10:49:22 PM
I know that if the "place on an X:" is no longer placed on an X for whatever reason (say Hero becomes Captured Hero) it stops working. Idk how much of that you can apply to different abilities such as this one, but I'd be in favor of consistency. If Zealotes is no longer a Hero, the Hero is no longer in play.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: browarod on May 10, 2011, 11:51:16 PM
Why do you keep calling him "Zealotes"?
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 10, 2011, 11:53:01 PM
It's way faster to type that than "Simon the Zealot." But seriously, it's for the same reason I call Simon the Magician Simon Magus. I'm just using the more traditional terms for the people, rather than the names of the cards.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: browarod on May 10, 2011, 11:57:19 PM
I just got confused since "Zealotes" isn't actually a word, lol. Whatever happened to just calling cards by their abbreviation? I don't think there's any other StZ's to get confused by.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 10, 2011, 11:59:59 PM
Zealotes is cooler than StZ.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Isildur on May 11, 2011, 12:35:41 AM
I would agree Mr.Z would not work but I think D.Sin might.... I cant recall if placed things are discarded when characters are captured...
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Gabe on May 11, 2011, 12:37:45 AM
If Simon the Zealot is converted to another card type, be it captured Hero or Evil Character or whatever, his protection ends.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Minister Polarius on May 11, 2011, 03:07:43 AM
I would agree Mr.Z would not work but I think D.Sin might.... I cant recall if placed things are discarded when characters are captured...
That's not the case. However, many of them will stop working.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Professoralstad on May 11, 2011, 02:16:42 PM
I would agree Mr.Z would not work but I think D.Sin might.... I cant recall if placed things are discarded when characters are captured...
That's not the case. However, many of them will stop working.

There was discussion at some point on the elders side of the board that we might make that the default. I don't think we announced anything yet, but I can check to see if that was indeed true.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal