Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: RTSmaniac on March 16, 2011, 11:40:34 PM

Title: Simon the Zealot
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 16, 2011, 11:40:34 PM
Does Simon the Zealot stop force draw? aka meeting the messiah ect..

Simon the Zealot (Di)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Red/Purple • Ability: 7 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Negate and discard Rome and a N.T. Idol. First Strike. Protect your hand and deck from opponents' cards while this Hero remains in play. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Disciple • Verse: Luke 6:13-15 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on March 17, 2011, 12:39:28 AM
I want to say no solely due to the fact CTR + Hur would make this way too powerful.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Tom Bombadil on March 17, 2011, 01:57:57 AM
Well all I can say is that if it did, it would almost completely do away with ABom decks all together
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on March 17, 2011, 02:56:32 AM
I want to say no solely due to the fact CTR + Hur would make this way too powerful.

A persons hand would be protected from both the drawing and the shuffling. So... hur does nothing.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: SomeKittens on March 17, 2011, 08:23:48 AM
I seem to remember that one can't protect from drawing.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: 3-Liner And Bags Of Chips on March 17, 2011, 09:02:12 AM
Yeah kind like with JT
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 17, 2011, 09:50:22 AM
thats why im asking- and any elders opinion would be greatly appreciated.

I want to say no solely due to the fact CTR + Hur would make this way too powerful.

If u have Nazzy out and block King Rehoboam and choosing to fight Hur with someone, you still draw right?

King Rehoboam (Di)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Brown • Ability: 7 / 6 • Class: Warrior • Special Ability: If blocking, select any two Heroes in territories to fight each other. Protect this character from opponent's cards during that battle. • Play As: If blocking, select any two Heroes in territories to fight each other (side battle). Protect this character from opponent's cards during that battle. • Identifiers: OT Male Human, King (Judah), Royalty, Fought Earthly Battle • Verse: I Kings 12:1 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Hur (Pa)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Green • Ability: 4 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: Selected opponent must shuffle all but one card from hand back into draw pile and draw seven new cards. Cannot be interrupted, negated, or prevented. • Play As: Selected opponent must shuffle [return] all but one card from hand back into deck and draw seven new cards. Cannot be negated. • Identifiers: OT Male Human • Verse: Exodus 17:10 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Rare)

Nazareth (Di)
Type: Site • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect cards in your territory and hand from shuffle by an opponent. Protect all decks from search abilities. • Identifiers: Jew • Verse: Matthew 13:57 • Availability: Disciples booster packs ()

Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Gabe on March 17, 2011, 10:17:05 AM
Yes, you still draw from Hur.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: SomeKittens on March 17, 2011, 10:46:54 AM
The rationale here is that your opponent isn't removing the cards via drawing, you are.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 17, 2011, 11:15:14 AM
So Ill ask it again while I wait for an Elders response...

Does Simon the Zealot stop force draw? aka meeting the messiah ect..

Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on March 17, 2011, 11:16:12 AM
So, if I have a fort that says "protect your evil characters from discard by an opponent"... and the other player plays a card that says "Opponent must discard an evil character in play." Does the same concept apply?

Their ability is making me do an action in both cases.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 17, 2011, 12:06:36 PM
Simon Zealotes does indeed stop forced drawing. You're getting confused by the ruling that Jerusalem Tower does not, on account of forced draw not being considered "removing from deck." Apples and oranges.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Professoralstad on March 17, 2011, 12:13:25 PM
Simon Zealotes does indeed stop forced drawing. You're getting confused by the ruling that Jerusalem Tower does not, on account of forced draw not being considered "removing from deck." Apples and oranges.

I'm pretty sure this is correct. Fortunately, he also protects hand, so that Mayhem and TGW make him unplayable.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Chronic Apathy on March 17, 2011, 12:39:51 PM
So if you have Simon out and someone plays a force draw card, can you choose to draw, or is drawing forbidden?
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on March 17, 2011, 12:53:34 PM
I'd say you are not allowed.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: Chronic Apathy on March 17, 2011, 12:56:16 PM
That would be my thought as well.
Title: Re: Simon the Zealot
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 17, 2011, 09:33:50 PM
ok thanks Polarius.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal