Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Sean on March 05, 2011, 03:17:37 PM
-
If I create a side battle and choose for my opponent to use a banding character, which of us chooses to use the SA? Me or them? Why?
-
Them. They control the character in the battle and thus are able to either use or not use the ability.
-
+1
Remember however that special abilities that include "your" necessitate ownership and control.
-
pop quiz:
does holder = owner+controler?
-
The REG (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/gloss_holder.htm) says:
When the special ability of a card refers to the Holder, it means the player that activated the card. If your opponent controls one of your characters, he becomes the holder of that character for the remainder of the battle.
-
pop quiz:
does holder = owner+controler?
Since this is a quiz, I will add my response to the other student's. ;)
If I bring a certain card to a game, then it is my card. I own it. Showing it to other players may give them an opportunity to hold my card, but it is still mine.
During the course of the game, strange circumstances may occur, and my opponent may end up having my card on his side of the table. Any special abilities that are on my card that say "your" will only ever work for me, since I am the only owner of that card, but the card has to be on my side of the table for those abilities to work. However, any special abilities on that card that say "holder" could work for either of us when we have the card on our side of the table.
-
What about when you didn't bring the card to the tournament, like Booster Draft? OooOoOOOOoOooh!
-
What about when you didn't bring the card to the tournament, like Booster Draft? OooOoOOOOoOooh!
Then you can only use the abilities that say "this card" or "this character." :o
I actually said bring the card to "a game," not "a tournament," but that's neither here nor there. ;D
-
So "your" refers to the owner, not the controller?
-
So "your" refers to the owner, not the controller?
"Your" refers to both. If you are not the "owner" of the card, then "your" will never work. If you are the "owner," then "your" will only work if you control the card.