Author Topic: SI and cards that remove themselves from play  (Read 299 times)

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
SI and cards that remove themselves from play
« on: February 10, 2021, 02:03:01 PM »
0
According to the REG:
Quote from: REG:Special Initiative
When this occurs, suspend the card causing the removal and additional abilities or effects waiting to activate.
...
If the card with the removing effect was already removed from play due to one of its effects, it may still be targeted during Special Initiative by an Enhancement that specifically targets its card type.
If I'm reading this correctly, any card that removes itself from play to trigger an ability that would grant SI (such as Lahmi's Spear from the I Starter) can be negated with a basic negate?  I always thought that since the card removed itself from play before the SI triggering effect activated, the negate had to be able to target the last enhancement played (in this case, the last evil enhancement played).

Spoiler (hover to show)

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: SI and cards that remove themselves from play
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2021, 10:18:50 PM »
0
Your reading is correct. I think SI overrides that targeting rule in part to make it easier to use.

Offline TheIrishman

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 73
  • "The Island" Region #Nats2020
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: SI and cards that remove themselves from play
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2021, 10:43:12 PM »
0
Your reading is correct. I think SI overrides that targeting rule in part to make it easier to use.
It's a slight shame though because it would have been neat for those types of cards to have a little more potency because of their self-removal mechanic.  Nonetheless, I definitely understand the ease of use argument justifying the overriding of that targeting rule.  How does this logic apply to "interrupt the battle" abilities?  Can they target cards that remove themselves before SI?  The REG says they can target "abilities with effects that are defeating one of the characters you control in battle" and "abilities on the last card played in current battle if it was played by your opponent."

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 3260
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: SI and cards that remove themselves from play
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2021, 01:37:34 AM »
0
I believe ITB does not care where the card currently is, only that it was activated within the current battle. So yes, they can target cards that have/would have removed themselves.