Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Ken4Christ4ever on August 09, 2009, 09:04:25 PM
-
If I play Repentance, place it on an evil character in a territory, and then play A New Beginning, does Repentance get shuffled since it is not in the discard pile?
Also, just to confirm how A New Beginning is played, do I get to draw another 3 cards after the 8 I draw, or not? The errata has me confused...
Lastly, do all the cards in battle get shuffled, including A New Beginning?
Thanks!
Ken
Repentance
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Place this card on any human Evil Character in play and convert to a Green Brigade Hero. • Play As: Convert one human Evil Character to a Green Brigade Hero. • Identifiers: OT, Based on Prophecy • Verse: Ezekiel 33:19 • Availability: Limited booster packs (Rare) and Unlimited booster packs (Rare)
A New Beginning
Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Green • Ability: 4 / 5 • Class: None • Special Ability: ALL players shuffle ALL cards in the field of play, set-aside areas and their hands back into their draw pile. Only cards in Land of Redemption and discard piles remain. ALL players Draw 8 new cards. Holder may begin a new turn. • Errata: If making a rescue attempt, ALL players shuffle ALL cards in the field of play, set-aside areas and their hands back into their draw pile. Only cards in Land of Redemption and discard piles remain. ALL players draw 8 new cards. Holder may begin a new turn. [Note: The new turn begins when the new hands are drawn.] • Identifiers: None • Verse: Genesis 8:15-17 • Availability: Patriarchs booster packs (Ultra Rare)
-
Yes, it's shuffled, cause it's still in play.
You get to start a new turn. Drawing three is part of a new turn, so yes again.
-
I dont know if it is a placed card anymore due to the errata. If it is a placed card then yeah you get it back because it is still in play
For the other part if you are making an RA and you play ANB then you draw 8 and then draw 3 more to begin a new turn.
-
Based on the Play As for Repentence (which should really be an Errata, if it's correct), it doesn't place itself anymore.
-
Based on the Play As for Repentence (which should really be an Errata, if it's correct), it doesn't place itself anymore.
Yeah, that is what I am thinking and Aggies right it should be an errata if that is the case and not a play as.
-
Thanks to all 3 of you. :) How do we find out if the "Play As", which should be an "Errata" for Repentance is correct?
-
I made a ruiling question thread here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?board=1.0) to find out the answer. Lets see if the PTB can give us an answer.
-
My ears were buzzing. I can help with the Repentence "play as". The "play as" entry is a little old. It was meant to put the card in the same language and style as other convert cards. As you know, none of the other covert cards are "placed" on a character. Repentence came out before the idea of what to do with conversion was finalized to the form it is now.
Anyway, I recall that Rob recently agreed that even though Repentence differs from all other convert language, it should be played literally. I think the rationale is that if it doesn't break the game, then play it as it is written. I was simply not available to update the REG when that whole discussion happened. I imagine if you search the bboard, you'll find the discussion. If you don't, it happened offline in a private discussion.
I will get clarification on it. My guess is that the "play as" will be removed and you'll have to actually "place" the card, even though it goes against the current principle of how to deal with conversion cards.
Mike
-
I made a ruiling question thread here (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?board=1.0) to find out the answer. Lets see if the PTB can give us an answer.
nvm, he found it here. I like this idea. so the answer is "yes you get your repentance back with ANB"
-
Thank you!
-
I think it would also be different from other place cards. Most (if not all) say "while this card remains" or something similar, whereas Repentance doesn't. Wouldn't the character remain converted if Repentance was discarded after it was placed?
-
Looks like it. If the trend is to read the cards literally unless they break the game, then Repentance should convert the EC as soon as it is placed and then just remain there as baggage until it is shuffled by ANB to do the same thing again.
Of course shuffling resets the EC too.... :-\
-
That is the way it is to be played. It is unique, but it is correct. The card does nothing while "placed", since the special ability (convert) was an instant ability. It does not go away when Repentance is removed.
BTW, the "play as" will be was removed.
Mike