Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: DJWeb on May 25, 2014, 03:16:51 PM

Title: Several Questions
Post by: DJWeb on May 25, 2014, 03:16:51 PM
Three questions.

1. Can you use the ability on Philistine Outpost more than once when you are attacked? Example: discard two evil cards from deck to search for two generic Philistines.

Philistine Outpost "When you are attacked, you may discard this card or an evil card from deck to search discard pile for a generic Philistine and place it in your territory."

2. Can you discard teal sites with Solomon's Temple instead ability?

Solomon's Temple "If a Solomon’s Temple Priest, King of Judah, or Solomon is captured or discarded by an opponent’s special ability, you may discard a teal card from hand instead. "

3. Why does Lampstand protect cards in Land of Redemption? Wouldn't the ability default to in play?

"Protect all cards not in battle from evil Dominants (grim-reaper icon cards)."
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: yirgogo on May 25, 2014, 03:31:55 PM
I can answer the third one. Lampstand has a target area, and it is "not in battle".
It is only if no target area is specified that it defaults to in play.

Also, for 2, yes, because it is a teal card.

And I guess I know all three and went backwards XD
No, because you are only attacked once, and that is a trigger for the card.
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: Minion of Jesus on May 25, 2014, 03:41:37 PM
I can answer the third one. Lampstand has a target area, and it is "not in battle".
It is only if no target area is specified that it defaults to in play.

Also, for 2, yes, because it is a teal card.

And I guess I know all three and went backwards XD
No, because you are only attacked once, and that is a trigger for the card.

Right, but I'm not sure I agree with your answer to #2...
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: yirgogo on May 25, 2014, 03:43:29 PM
Okay, I have allways played that way. I thought that, for instance, you could use Angelic guidance to serch for silver sites, including multicolor sites.
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: DJWeb on May 25, 2014, 08:03:12 PM
I think your answers for 1 and 3 make sense, although a definite answer on 1 would be nice.

Also, for 2, yes, because it is a teal card.

I guess this is what I am wondering. Is a teal site actually a teal card? Or is it just a site that is needs teal to get into? I kind of had a feeling sites are more like fortresses and don't have any brigade like characters or enhancements.
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: yirgogo on May 25, 2014, 08:25:21 PM
Yes, the answer of 1 is that you may only use it once, because it is a cause/affect, and someone gets attacked it triggers the ability once, per the singular usage of "an" after the attacked section.

I don't know about the site question, is there some clarification on this?
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: Nameless on May 25, 2014, 08:28:19 PM
You cannot search for sites. They have neutral brigades, which are different from good brigades.
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: Praeceps on May 26, 2014, 06:53:22 AM
Actually, since Angelic Guidance doesn't specify "good silver card" you could use it to search for a silver site.

As Nameless said, sites have neutral brigades so if you can search for a silver card or discard a teal card, a site qualifies. But if you search for a good silver card or discard a good teal card, than a site wouldn't work.

Angelic Guidance - Look at an opponent’s hand. You may search your deck for a silver card.
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: EmJayBee83 on May 26, 2014, 08:44:47 AM
Actually, since Angelic Guidance doesn't specify "good silver card" you could use it to search for a silver site.

As Nameless said, sites have neutral brigades so if you can search for a silver card or discard a teal card, a site qualifies.
This is directly analogous to the ruling that Battle Prayer (Wa) can search for either a good or an evil gold brigade enhancement.
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: browarod on May 26, 2014, 09:17:11 AM
Praeceps is correct. As such, you can discard a teal Site to satisfy Solomon's Temple since it doesn't specify an alignment.
Title: Re: Several Questions
Post by: Redoubter on May 27, 2014, 07:26:16 PM
Agreeing with the rulings here, and putting them all together for ease of reading:

1.  You are attacked once, one discard.

2.  Agree with the ruling that sites have brigades, it is very consistently ruled (and the Temple ruling has specifically been ruled as such).  You can also search for it by brigade, as long as the card can search for a neutral card without restriction.

3.  "Not in battle" is defined (it is in the REG) as "Cards 'not in battle' are cards found in (1) territories, (2) set aside areas, and (3) Lands of Redemption."  As targeting is defined, the ability does not default to play.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal